Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Amiga Hypervisor  (Read 1969 times)

Description:

Offline jarroyoTopic starter

• Show only replies by jarroyo
Amiga Hypervisor
« on: June 01, 2009, 05:01:59 AM »
Has anyone ever considered an Amiga based Hypervisor for OS 4.1 and above? I am not an expert, but I would imagine that the people who put together the Minimig in FPGA would be smart enough to pull this off. Consider having a Hypervisor for not only the Classic Systems, but also the new stuff running in OS 4.1.

The goal here is getting off of the hardware situation that has plagued this system for far too long. Would a bounty help?

Thoughts and musings.......

Offline Trev

• Zero
    • Show only replies by Trev
Re: Amiga Hypervisor
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2009, 06:48:35 PM »
I've thought about it, but to do it properly on classic systems, I believe you'd need to use a combination of virtualization and emulation to maintain system timing. You'd replace the system-level bootstrap code with hypervisor code that bootstraps and starts Exec in a VM partition, presenting the user with the usual insert-disk animation. You could provide an early startup menu similar to the built-in one for managing VM partitions, storage, etc.

On newer PPC-based systems, you'd probably just want to use an off-the-shelf virtualization product (or a PS3) and write the OS4 startup code, kernel modules, and drivers necessary to support the virtual machine.

Offline bloodline

• Master Sock Abuser
    • Show only replies by bloodline
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2009, 07:38:53 PM »
How is this any different from UAE?

Offline Trev

• Zero
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2009, 07:58:10 PM »
Different in the same way Bochs and DOSEMU are different from VMware and Virtual Server, although the utility on a 68k system is questionable. It would be a cool project, though.