Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: New Amiga User  (Read 1691 times)

Description:

Offline Robert17Topic starter

• Show only replies by Robert17
New Amiga User
« on: April 29, 2004, 05:02:15 PM »
Hello Everyone I'm new to all this but I've got an Amiga 1200 totally stock and A Pc (boooo) but I only use the pc for web browsing and mp3.. all my games are played on the amiga :-)

Any Suggestions for a nice little upgrade to I can play mp3s and browse the web on my A1200, so I won't have to use the Pc anymore?

Thanks

Robert
Member of the Lincs Amiga Group, UK :-)

Offline Coder

• Show only replies by Coder
    • http://www.amiga.nl
Re: New Amiga User
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2004, 06:08:48 PM »
Hi Robert,

Welcome! I leave the upgrade question to others. I just have a plain a1200. But I am ready for the future with my shiny AmigaOne.

Coder
Check it out - I found the ass-end!

Offline cecilia

• Amiga Snob
    • Show only replies by cecilia
    • http://cecilia.sawneybean.com/
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2004, 06:21:39 PM »
upgrade to OS3.9, both boing balls. that should work.  :lol:
the no CARB diet- no Cheney, Ashcroft, Rumsfeld or Bush.
IFX CD Tutorial

Offline Dan

• Show only replies by Dan
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2004, 09:18:45 PM »
for mp3 get the Delfina soundcard or a Mas-player, they have hardware mp3-decoding which means almost zero cpuload.
E-mail is possible todo without upgrades.
"totally stock" does that mean an unexpanded A1200? HD?CD?
Then you need do some serious upgrading, atleast a acceleratorcard and a scandoubler(256colours) or a Zorro or PCIbackplane with graphicscard(24bit). Now it´s getting expensive.

What pc do you have? Have you tried WinUAE(cheapest way to get 24bit amiga graphics if pc exists)?
If you want to get rid of windows, why not consider Cloantos
AmigaForever6.0 which boots a minimal linux to run UAE.
Apple did it right the first time, bring back the Newton!

« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2004, 10:06:23 PM »