Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: A-1200 on the internet via DSL?  (Read 3623 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wa9yoz

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Posts: 173
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.qrz.com/db/wa9yoz
A-1200 on the internet via DSL?
« on: February 28, 2014, 02:07:02 AM »
Greetings all! I'm thinking of using my A-1200 and "EasyNet PCMCIA network card" to go online via DSL. Anyone using it and any difficulty get online?
Thanks.
Tony
e-mail reply is just as good...
wa9yoz@arrl.net
 

Offline spirantho

Re: A-1200 on the internet via DSL?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2014, 07:50:33 AM »
Quote from: wa9yoz;759875
Greetings all! I'm thinking of using my A-1200 and "EasyNet PCMCIA network card" to go online via DSL. Anyone using it and any difficulty get online?
Thanks.
Tony
e-mail reply is just as good...
wa9yoz@arrl.net


I use a PCMCIA WiFi card on my A1200s.... no problems here! Easynet on one machine, MiamiDX on the other.
--
Ian Gledhill
ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (except it should be internEt of course...!)
Check out my shop! http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/shop/ - for 8-bit (and soon 16-bit) goodness!
 

Offline TCMSLP

Re: A-1200 on the internet via DSL?
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2014, 12:13:32 PM »
I'm using a PCMCIA wired ethernet card (3com cnet compatible) and AmiTCP4 (trial version).

I have heard of Easynet issues with either WEP/WPA passwords (I forget which) but I have no direct personal experience with wireless networking under AmigaOS.

73

Steve
A1200 50MHz 68030 16Mb, PCMCIA Ethernet, Indivision AGA MkIIcr
http://www.coherer.net Coherer: Electro!
 

Offline jj

Re: A-1200 on the internet via DSL?
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2014, 12:15:48 PM »
I would avoid wireless on a classic amiga.  the power required for the de-cryption etc makes it too slow.,  Wired much better results
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
 
Registered MorphsOS 3.13 user on Powerbook G4 15"
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: A-1200 on the internet via DSL?
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2014, 05:49:49 PM »
Quote from: JJ;759887
I would avoid wireless on a classic amiga.  the power required for the de-cryption etc makes it too slow.,  Wired much better results


I download files just under 300KB/s (2,4Mb/s) which feels quite ok on the 16bit buss on my Amiga 1200 using prism2/miamiDX with a Oronico Silver wifi card, how fast does it get on wired?
 

Offline magnetic

Re: A-1200 on the internet via DSL?
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2014, 11:17:03 PM »
Quote from: JJ;759887
I would avoid wireless on a classic amiga.  the power required for the de-cryption etc makes it too slow.,  Wired much better results


I'm using an Ethernet Power line adaptor. This is a device that plugs into an electrical outlet and gives you a wired LAN access. I have this connected to a small hub that goes to an x86 box, an xbox 360, a Pegasos2, and an A1200!

About 50 bucks for the pair of powerline adaptors. Highly recommended
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS | OS4.1 U4 |Ubuntu GNU-Linux | MacOS X

Amiga 2000 Rom Switcher w/ 3.1 + 1.3 | HardFrame SCSI | CBM Ram board| A Squared LIVE! 2000 | Vlab Motion | Firecracker 24 gfx

Commodore CDTV: 68010 | ECS | 9mb Ram | SCSI -TV | 3.9 Rom | Developer EPROMs
 

Offline magnetic

Re: A-1200 on the internet via DSL?
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2014, 11:17:58 PM »
Quote from: som99;759897
I download files just under 300KB/s (2,4Mb/s) which feels quite ok on the 16bit buss on my Amiga 1200 using prism2/miamiDX with a Oronico Silver wifi card, how fast does it get on wired?



Are you using WPA or WEP?

BTW WEP is so insecure its not even funny. i can crack WEP encryption in like 3 mins.
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS | OS4.1 U4 |Ubuntu GNU-Linux | MacOS X

Amiga 2000 Rom Switcher w/ 3.1 + 1.3 | HardFrame SCSI | CBM Ram board| A Squared LIVE! 2000 | Vlab Motion | Firecracker 24 gfx

Commodore CDTV: 68010 | ECS | 9mb Ram | SCSI -TV | 3.9 Rom | Developer EPROMs
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: A-1200 on the internet via DSL?
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2014, 01:38:49 PM »
Quote from: magnetic;759912
Are you using WPA or WEP?

BTW WEP is so insecure its not even funny. i can crack WEP encryption in like 3 mins.

I think I got WPA2 running, Im in no need of more security I could even use WEP or nothing (most people can aircrack WEP super fast), I have no one close to my house who can access my Wifi also it's managed by my FreeBSD pfSense machine and has no access to the local network via wifi so it's no problem at all, the only machine that uses wifi is my A1200 everything else are via cable (htpc cable+homeplug).

So even if someone would use a laptop from a car outside my house I feel safe enough to not worry whith my neatly managed pfSense machine and without access tot he LAN what are they going to do, hack my A1200 the few times I go online with it or download porn ;).

Edit: Also if unknown devices would access the Wifi it would trigger an alert and I would look into it.
Also im quite sure I could configure pfSense to only accept connections from the Amiga and nothing else if I felt it was needed.
(pfSense is the best thing ive invested hardware in for networking in a long time, im glad i dug into it after we moved and I got my new fiber 1000Mb/s connection).
« Last Edit: March 01, 2014, 01:46:27 PM by som99 »