Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Tips on moving to Linux?  (Read 20907 times)

Description:

Offline stefcep2

• Show all replies
Re: Tips on moving to Linux?
« on: March 26, 2014, 02:15:59 PM »
I think most of the risk with running XP is overstated.

I haven't updated it in maybe 12 months, runs as well as ever and no malware.  I use  Zone Alarm firewall, I do not log in with an administrator account, I use AVG free.  And commonsense: there are NO Nigerian Princes who want to transfer their riches into your bank account!

Maybe you can still keep going for a fair bit longer.

I know there's a few Linux fans here, but in my experience, no, it doesn't "just work".

Offline stefcep2

• Show all replies
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2014, 02:49:40 AM »
Quote from: TheMagicM;761324
As soon as I read commodorejohn's first post, I dismissed him, to put it mildly since I'm a moderator, as a ill-informed and .

I've been using Linux since 1992, dual boot with Windows, and then in '96 switched full-time to Linux.  I've used many different distros to say the least.  Each has their pros and cons, just like each version of Windows, except without the virus/malware problems.  Its come such a long way since '92.  Back then I had to dig around and fix dependencies on my own and any help came with a RTFM in irc chat days.  Fast forward to today...

My dad runs Linux.  He's not an IT guy.  He just wants something that works.  He ran Windows from  Win 95 to Win 7.   Well, he's been using Linux only for about 12 years.  He's 76.

Myself, I run a crapload of different distros in VM machines and on my server rack here at my home office and also UNIX.  I love it.   My Acer s7 runs Debian.

For you, I would try Ubuntu or Linux Mint which is what my dad uses.  Both Ubuntu and LM have nice package managers and have a plethora of software in their library.  Virtually all retro system emulators are supported and run very well, even on a P4 like yours.