Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Beneath A Steel Sky CD32 WHDLoad loading times  (Read 2184 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline motorollinTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 8669
    • Show only replies by motorollin
Beneath A Steel Sky CD32 WHDLoad loading times
« on: July 15, 2006, 10:00:59 AM »
When I run the WHDLoad installed CD32 version of Beneath A Steel Sky, there is a short gap between each speech sample. The background music and animation stops while it is presumably loading the next sample.

Fortunately I have loads of Fast RAM, so I turned on preload and the problem went away (samples now play smoothly). However, this means the game takes about 5 minutes to loads. Any ideas what I can do?

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline Angus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2006
  • Posts: 268
    • Show only replies by Angus
    • http://www.angusm.demon.co.uk/AGDB/AGDB.html
Re: Beneath A Steel Sky CD32 WHDLoad loading times
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2006, 11:13:17 AM »
I don't think there's much you can do. I was waiting ages for the game to load before I replaced my hard drive, but I think 5 mins is probably faster than it takes here.

What would be ideal IMHO is if there was a WHDLOad option that allowed accessing the CD, but I think WHDLoad precludes this possibility.

Its a drag because I've not been able to get the very effective CD32 emulation that came with IDEfix to work since I went down the Mediator route.

compromises, compromises....  :)
 

Offline motorollinTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 8669
    • Show only replies by motorollin
Re: Beneath A Steel Sky CD32 WHDLoad loading times
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2006, 11:25:00 AM »
Thanks Angus. I think I'll leave the preload option on as I would rather wait a few minutes and then play the game smoothly.

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline MrZammler

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 720
    • Show only replies by MrZammler
Re: Beneath A Steel Sky CD32 WHDLoad loading times
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2006, 12:01:38 PM »
Well, for anything whdload needs to do outside the game (i.e. access the hard disk to load something), it needs to re-establish the os -> access the disk through the os -> close os and go back to the game. That's why you see the screen blanking etc.
Anyway is the only way
 

Offline motorollinTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 8669
    • Show only replies by motorollin
Re: Beneath A Steel Sky CD32 WHDLoad loading times
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2006, 12:03:20 PM »
Ahhhh I see! That would explain why it doesn't happen on an actual CD32. Thanks for the explanation :-)

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline TheGamingGenius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2024
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by TheGamingGenius
Re: Beneath A Steel Sky CD32 WHDLoad loading times
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2024, 10:08:51 AM »
Hi There

Old post i know, but

I had the exact same issue and although i didnt find out how to set preload, but I did manage to setup my chipset settings to eliminate the issue.

Basically set the Main Chip Mem to "2MB" and the the Z2 Fast to "256KB" and 32-bit Chip to "128MB"

Note: leave Slow and Z3 Fast set to "none"

This has completely resolved for me (although loading initially takes quite a while to load)