Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Getting more Chip ram  (Read 1219 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bradhansen1Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by bradhansen1
Getting more Chip ram
« on: November 13, 2021, 03:39:40 PM »
Hi All,

I know there is a way to get all your Chip Ram back after you load your Workbench,
I think. I am running a TF1230 on OS 3.2. If someone could explain how you can
move some stuff to ram when you load Workbench or how FBlit works that would
be much appreciated.

Brad Hansen
 

Offline TribbleSmasher

Re: Getting more Chip ram
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2021, 05:53:23 PM »
You'll never get all your chip ram back, as some drivers and structures rely on it.
The biggest impact would a RTG graphics card do, or reducing the Workbench screen size and colours.
 

Offline nicholas

“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini
 

Offline bradhansen1Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2019
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by bradhansen1
Re: Getting more Chip ram
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2021, 11:14:48 PM »
Thank you, I will follow thru to get this going.
Brad Hansen
 

Offline walkero

Re: Getting more Chip ram
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2021, 11:27:13 AM »
That was the topic of one of my streams some time ago, which you can find it at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DzRSN2jXg0k. In this video, you will see how you can reduce chip ram usage without using any patches.
 
The following users thanked this post: klx300r

Offline klx300r

  • Amiga 1000+AmigaOne X1000
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Posts: 3189
  • Country: ca
  • Thanked: 19 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by klx300r
    • http://mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca/
Re: Getting more Chip ram
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2021, 04:55:32 PM »
@ walkeroo
great video thanks for posting ;D
____________________________________________________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
--- www.mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca ---
  -AspireOS.com & Amikit- Amiga for your netbook-
***X1000- I BELIEVE *** :angel: