Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!  (Read 15871 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jj

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #165 on: September 04, 2009, 02:53:54 PM »
Quote from: Damion;521978
There must have been huge fluctuations in production quality. My 1260 has been a nice, stable card. With an IDE-Fix Express, IDE is about 2 MB/s faster than my old Blizz 1260. Of course the Apollo SCSI option is crap, and 32MB per SIMM limitation is also annoying. But it's a nice card for AGA demos, and all my expansions work with it OK.
 
My Apollo 1230, on the other hand, is a complete POS. It might run for a few hours, or crash immediately... no telling when. And that's on motherboards with clean power and new caps.
 
 
 
Crossing my fingers here. :)

This would be timing issues.  The apollos are not buffered this is why they are faster than blizzards but a lot more unstable.
 
Whilst using apollos you really need to get relevant timing fixs done to mobos.
 
Never had trouble with a blizzard though
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2
 
Registered MorphsOS 3.13 user on Powerbook G4 15"
 

Offline AmigaPixel

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #166 on: September 04, 2009, 03:45:07 PM »
@JJ

 Yes loved my Blizzard 060 I had in my A1200, very stable but a hot little sucker! I used to pull the trap door off and and raise it a little on blockes then put an ordinary house fan by it when it was under heavy load. Usually rendering 3D animations.
 

Offline Colani1200

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #167 on: September 04, 2009, 03:46:24 PM »
Quote from: kolla;521958

But I guess this boils down to "we need a new acc-card for A600", hehe ;)


agreed. :D
 

Offline Damion

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #168 on: September 04, 2009, 05:21:56 PM »
Quote from: JJ;522076
This would be timing issues.  The apollos are not buffered this is why they are faster than blizzards but a lot more unstable.

 
Yeah, my 1230 crashes on any kind of motherboard, fixed or not. Probably just a b0rked card though... I can't imagine they were all like that. The 1260 on the other hand is a gem.
 

Offline Karlos

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #169 on: September 04, 2009, 09:46:42 PM »
@Jens

Somewhat off-topic, have you ever thought of designing an accelerator card? Almost every A1200 accelerator card I've used has had memory access times a lot lower than is the theoretical peak for the CPU on the card. It would be rather nice to have something comparable to the CT60 :) Then see about an A600 version LOL!
int p; // A
 

Offline Akiko

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #170 on: September 04, 2009, 11:20:37 PM »
@Jens

I'm also interested in your thoughts on a new accelerator. :)
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #171 on: September 05, 2009, 07:45:34 AM »
Quote from: Karlos;522110
@Jens

Somewhat off-topic, have you ever thought of designing an accelerator card? Almost every A1200 accelerator card I've used has had memory access times a lot lower than is the theoretical peak for the CPU on the card. It would be rather nice to have something comparable to the CT60 :) Then see about an A600 version LOL!


Think about where the IndivisionECS is ultimately going... And other comments by Jens in this very thread... If I'm right about this, you won't need/want an accelerator ;)

Offline Karlos

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #172 on: September 05, 2009, 04:10:09 PM »
@bloodline

I think I'd prefer something like the Boxer rather than a PCI card with custom chipset on them, if that's what you are getting at :)
int p; // A
 

Offline kolla

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #173 on: September 05, 2009, 06:02:04 PM »
Quote from: bloodline;522139
Think about where the IndivisionECS is ultimately going... And other comments by Jens in this very thread... If I'm right about this, you won't need/want an accelerator ;)


Ultimately, it's a new A600 motherboard :laughing:
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
---
A3000/060CSPPC+CVPPC/128MB + 256MB BigRAM/Deneb USB
A4000/CS060/Mediator4000Di/Voodoo5/128MB
A1200/Blz1260/IndyAGA/192MB
A1200/Blz1260/64MB
A1200/Blz1230III/32MB
A1200/ACA1221
A600/V600v2/Subway USB
A600/Apollo630/32MB
A600/A6095
CD32/SX32/32MB/Plipbox
CD32/TF328
A500/V500v2
A500/MTec520
CDTV
MiSTer, MiST, FleaFPGAs and original Minimig
Peg1, SAM440 and Mac minis with MorphOS
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #174 on: September 05, 2009, 06:31:46 PM »
Quote from: Karlos;522167
@bloodline

I think I'd prefer something like the Boxer rather than a PCI card with custom chipset on them, if that's what you are getting at :)


Oh no! nothing like that!!! I was referring to the very early CloneA concept, I've never been  fan of the chipset on a PCI card... since I prefer to do as much in software a possible. :)

Offline Karlos

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #175 on: September 06, 2009, 03:38:06 PM »
Quote from: bloodline;522183
Oh no! nothing like that!!! I was referring to the very early CloneA concept, I've never been  fan of the chipset on a PCI card... since I prefer to do as much in software a possible. :)


Ok, I just googled "CloneA". Is this what you meant by the "big one" you've been waiting for?

:roflmao:
int p; // A
 

Offline Schoenfeld

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #176 on: September 24, 2009, 05:01:05 PM »
some news from the production site:

I've been a little nervous about the first dual-sided production run on the new machines (new since 2008), but it was all going flawlessly so far. Backsides have been assembled last week, and we're now tweaking the machines for the other side. If all goes as planned, the manual assembly (DIP sockets, jumper and VGA connector) can start next week.

Time to place your pre-orders!

Jens
 

Offline Pyromania

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #177 on: September 24, 2009, 05:21:09 PM »
Quote from: Karlos;522263
Ok, I just googled "CloneA". Is this what you meant by the "big one" you've been waiting for?

:roflmao:


Very very funny Karlos.

:)
 

Offline Ratte

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #178 on: January 01, 2010, 01:31:49 AM »
Dualscreenmode

Demomovie

http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?p=310384

Happy New Year!
 

Offline VingtTrois

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 897
  • Country: 00
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.amiga.org/gallery/images/6006/1_2316_My_AMIGA_Collection_Sept2010.jpg
Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #179 on: January 01, 2010, 03:32:04 AM »
Quote from: Ratte;535638
Dualscreenmode

Demomovie

http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?p=310384

Happy New Year!

Ok, I see an A4000 (AGA) below the monitor. Where is the ECS Computer ?
HHaaa !! Sorry...I see now the A1000 !
-A3K(T)040@35MHz/78MB/KS3.1/OS3.9/Buster11/PICASSO II/GVP IO/A2088XT/DENEB/HDD18GB
-A3K(D)030@25MHz/134MB RAM/KS3.1/OS3.9/Buster11/RETINA Z2/OKTAGON 2008/VLAB YC/MIDI/DKB3128/HDD18GB
-A2K/ROM 1.3-3.1/2MBCHIP/8MB/A2091/OKTAGON 2008/A2058/TANDEM IDE/FlickerFixer-Scandoubler/Genlock
-A1200/KS3.1/2MB+9MB/CF2GB A1200[/