Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: KickWork  (Read 21886 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ratte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2006
  • Posts: 380
  • Country: de
    • Show only replies by Ratte
Re: KickWork
« Reply #59 from previous page: June 11, 2008, 12:24:39 AM »
Quote

TjLaZer wrote:
You got it to work with Kick 3.1?  That would be nice but impractical since the ROM is 512kb.

251 kb + 3 kb for decruncher and resetlogic
hmmm ... there are 2kb space for funstuff  :-D
 

Offline Ratte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2006
  • Posts: 380
  • Country: de
    • Show only replies by Ratte
Re: KickWork
« Reply #60 on: June 14, 2008, 11:30:16 PM »
Its done !!

With many many help ...
... today my A1000 booted from a KickWork3.1 disk.

Kickstart3.1 inside a 256KB WOM.
scsi / card / carddisk overwritten with $FF
(useless on an A1000)

trackdisk enhanced with kickwork

crunched with lzma = 251KB

Code: [Select]

dc.w $1111 ; ROM-Header
jmp $00fc00d2
dc.l $0000ffff
dc.w $0028 ; OS-Version
dc.w $003f ; OS-Revision
dc.w $ffff ; there is no exec.lib
dc.w $ffff ; version/revision
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.b 0 ; ROM-Text
dc.b "AMIGA WOM Operating System              ",0
dc.b "                      ",0
dc.b "                      ",0
dc.b "                    ",0
dc.b "        ",0
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffffffff
dc.l $ffff4e70 ; RESET command
code:
lea.l $400,a7 ; temp.stack
clr.b $00bfe001 ; against trashed register
move.b #$03,$00bfe201 ; overlay and power-led
lea.l $00dff000,a4 ; chipset base address
move.w #$7fff,d0 ; clear all pattern
move.w d0,(a4,$009a) ; disable all interrupts
move.w d0,(a4,$009c) ; clear all interrupts
move.w d0,(a4,$0096) ; disable all dma
move.w #$0174,(a4,$0032) ; init ser-port 9600 baud
move.w #$0200,(a4,$0100) ; init display
move.w #$0000,(a4,$0110) ; init display
move.w #$0111,(a4,$0180) ; init display
memtest:
lea.l $00200000,a0 ; expansionmem-base
move.l (a0),d1 ; store memory
move.l #"KICK",(a0)
cmp.l #"KICK",(a0)
bne autoconfig
move.l #"WORK",(a0)
cmp.l #"WORK",(a0)
bne autoconfig
move.l d1,(a0) ; restore memory
bra good_hardware
autoconfig:
move.b #$20,$00e80048 ; activate the
move.b #$00,$00e8004a ; first expansion
move.l (a0),d1 ; store memory
move.l #"KICK",(a0)
cmp.l #"KICK",(a0)
bne bad_hardware
move.l #"WORK",(a0)
cmp.l #"WORK",(a0)
bne bad_hardware
move.l d1,(a0) ; restore memory
good_hardware:
bsr checksum
not.l d5
beq ready_to_go
bsr decrunch
lea.l $00200000,a0
bsr checksum
not.l d5
beq ready_to_go
bad_hardware:
move.w #$0f00,(a4,$0180) ; red screen
moveq #10,d1
moveq #-1,d0
pled_on:
bset.b #$0001,$00bfe001 ; power-led on
dbf d0,pled_on
lsr #2,d0
pled_off:
bclr.b #$0001,$00bfe001 ; power-led off
dbf d0,pled_off
dbf d1,pled_on
move.l #$00015000,d0
reset:
move.w #$0000,(a4,0$180) ; black screen
subq.l #1,d0
bgt.b reset
move.w #$4000,(a4,$009a)
lea.l $00f80002,a0
reset
jmp (a0) ; restart
ready_to_go:
jmp $00200002
checksum:
move.l #524288/4,d1 ; checksumtest for
moveq #0,d5 ; $200000-$27ffff
checksum_loop:
add.l (a0)+,d5
bcc checksum_test
addq.l #1,d5
checksum_test:
subq.l #1,d1
bne checksum_loop
rts
decrunch:
.
.
.

 

Offline chiark

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2004
  • Posts: 308
    • Show only replies by chiark
    • http://www.chiark.com
Re: KickWork
« Reply #61 on: January 22, 2009, 09:32:04 PM »
Sorry to bring up the Thread from the Dead, but I thought I'd let everyone know that Piru has very, very, very kindly recompiled (or possibly hex edited, unsure which) mkkickwork.exe to remove a requirement it had on OS2.04+

I used it natively on my 1000 to create a kickwork disk.  Beautiful!  Prior to the patch that Piru wrote last night (a few hours after I PM'd him on here saying that it was failing on KS1.3 with fstat: I/O error) he had fixed it and replied.

It now works on KS1.3.  My 1000 now kickstarts, boots and transfers to the hard drive with one disk.  I owe this man a beer!
Celebrating 21... no, make that 27... years of Amiga use
 

Offline KatManDEW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 346
    • Show only replies by KatManDEW
    • http://www.katmandew.com
Re: KickWork
« Reply #62 on: January 26, 2009, 03:21:41 AM »
I can't get twinkick to work. It says "ABORT! Missing OS1.3 (V34.5) data!"

I used GrabKick to snag amy 1.3 kickstart on my A1000, and it created a file called "kick34005" which I renamed to "KICK13.ROM".

Any idea what's wrong?
A1000
A1200 - Indivision. Apollo 1240.
A2000 - GVP 040-16 meg, 2 meg chip, CD-RW, Flicker Fixer, Picasso II, 8 Up, 286 Bridgecard, OS 3.9
A2000HD #2 - 8 meg RAM, Genlock, Tower case
 

Offline Ratte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2006
  • Posts: 380
  • Country: de
    • Show only replies by Ratte
Re: KickWork
« Reply #63 on: January 26, 2009, 11:58:40 AM »
1. uppercase letters are important "KICK13.ROM"
- seems to be OK -

2. the romfile must be an 100% image of a v34.5 a500/a2000-kickstart
- no a1000 betas or modified kickstarts (config patch for memory or pal-patches etc.)

try to save your romimage from a a500 with real 1.3 ROM
 

Offline KatManDEW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 346
    • Show only replies by KatManDEW
    • http://www.katmandew.com
Re: KickWork
« Reply #64 on: January 26, 2009, 08:28:10 PM »
Quote

Ratte wrote:
1. uppercase letters are important "KICK13.ROM"
- seems to be OK -

2. the romfile must be an 100% image of a v34.5 a500/a2000-kickstart
- no a1000 betas or modified kickstarts (config patch for memory or pal-patches etc.)

try to save your romimage from a a500 with real 1.3 ROM


I named it all upercase KICK.ROM.

I don't have an A500, and my A2000 is Kickstart version 40.63 ;-(

A1000
A1200 - Indivision. Apollo 1240.
A2000 - GVP 040-16 meg, 2 meg chip, CD-RW, Flicker Fixer, Picasso II, 8 Up, 286 Bridgecard, OS 3.9
A2000HD #2 - 8 meg RAM, Genlock, Tower case
 

Offline desiv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 1269
    • Show only replies by desiv
Re: KickWork
« Reply #65 on: July 17, 2011, 12:13:24 AM »
Another "bringing this thread back from the dead" post.

Just an interesting and expected finding, but thought I'd list it anyway..

I just got an AE High Density floppy drive a bit ago..
Was playing with it, and got it working on my Amiga 1000.
I was using a standard WB boot disk for this, as my KickWork disk was a bit full. ;-)
(In that, I'd use the Kickwork to kickstart, but then ejected it and put in copy of a standard WB disk to install the AEHD drivers..)

OK, so I made a copy of my kickwork disk and cleared a bit of space to make room for the drivers..

And it doesn't work.  No shock.
Everything seems fine, until I load DEVS:AETD.device, which is what patches trackdisk device.
When I do that, I lose my kickwork boot partition.
(Starts telling me to insert KickWork, which is still there..)

So, these 2 patches to trackdisk seem to not like eachother..

Just an interesting find..

desiv
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
 

Offline klx300r

  • Amiga 1000+AmigaOne X1000
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by klx300r
    • http://mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca/
Re: KickWork
« Reply #66 on: September 01, 2012, 03:45:51 AM »
Poof! Bringing back this old thread :-)

Hoping to get my A1000 up & running in my office soon and a quick search of possibly booting kickstart 3.1 on it led me here.
I've got an 8mb board ordered from kipper so looks like some old school fun soon:)
____________________________________________________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
--- www.mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca ---
  -AspireOS.com & Amikit- Amiga for your netbook-
***X1000- I BELIEVE *** :angel:
 

Offline desiv

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 1269
    • Show only replies by desiv
Re: KickWork
« Reply #67 on: September 01, 2012, 03:55:39 AM »
I use a Kickwork disk on my A1000 currently, and it also loads the drivers for my IDE and RAM card and then transfers control to my IDE drive to finish the boot from the CF(IDE) card.

Works great.

I don't use kickwork to boot anything other than 1.3 tho.

If you're looking for 3.1, that's going to be something that (I think) only ratte has done.

desiv
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
 

Offline klx300r

  • Amiga 1000+AmigaOne X1000
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by klx300r
    • http://mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca/
Re: KickWork
« Reply #68 on: September 01, 2012, 05:55:17 AM »
@ desiv

sounds good. I have always enjoyed (& still do) booting my A1000 with both kickstart & workbench disks but kickwork booting up wb3.1 is just so darn cool:D

btw, what IDE controller and CF card do you use/recommend ?
« Last Edit: September 01, 2012, 06:26:39 AM by klx300r »
____________________________________________________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
--- www.mancave-ramblings.blogspot.ca ---
  -AspireOS.com & Amikit- Amiga for your netbook-
***X1000- I BELIEVE *** :angel: