Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Beginner Programing  (Read 3243 times)

Description:

Offline melottTopic starter

• Show only replies by melott
Beginner Programing
« on: February 22, 2003, 04:47:25 PM »
From one beginner to any others....
There was another thread started by someone
asking the best way to get started programing.
He received advice on everything from Fortran
to Java.
I wouldn't be supprised if he gives up.
Since I am a beginner I can relate to his problem.
Nobody said anything that was very helpful (IMHO).
I wanted to start programing, and I have several
options open to me. I have numerious manuals
languages ether perched or given to me,all legal.
And the route I chose to take was to start with
AmigaBasic. And yes I know its CRAP, but its also
probably the most documented. Books and example
code both good and bad are very easy to find.
When I started school and they tought me to read
they didn't give me the book "War & Peace" to learn
from, they gave me "Dick & Jane see Spot run".
My opinion is to start with AmigaBasic and except
the scoffs and Boo's. Its the easiest way.
There is no substatute manuals and there is probably more writen on basic than any other.
AmigaBasic will run on your Classic Amiga.
I have an A3000, 3.1 OS, A3640 accelerator and
a Retina Z2 gfx card and it runs quite well.
I have moved on to Blitz2 now, AmigaBasic can
only take you so far than you have to move on.
Maybe "C" will be next or maybe not, I don't know.
I am enjoying my self, not racking my head with
"Information Overload" that I would be getting
tring to learn "C".
Its very difficult to try to understand a concept
if you don't even know what the concept is that
you are tring to understand.
So start small, AmigaBasic or AREXX.
You'll know when you are ready to move up.

(IMHO)
Mel Ott

:-)  :-)
Stealth ONE  8-)

Offline alx

Re: Beginner Programing
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2003, 05:07:24 PM »