Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: AROS ARM Port?  (Read 2144 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dammy

AROS ARM Port?
« on: April 03, 2006, 05:29:46 PM »
Pity that this is now being talked about a year too late.  There was a small Chinese corp looking at AROS for their ARM based PDA in 2005.  But atleast now there is some effort being put forth on getting AROS ported to ARM arch.

Dammy
TeamAROS
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline amigadave

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2004
  • Posts: 3836
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.EfficientByDesign.org
Re: AROS ARM Port?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2006, 05:57:29 PM »
I would like to see AmigaOS3.1 or 3.9 ported to ARM and have a cell phone/PDA/GameBoy type of device that would run all the old Amiga games and software.

 :eureka:
How are you helping the Amiga community? :)
 

Offline dammy

Re: AROS ARM Port?
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2006, 10:05:26 PM »
Unless you can convince Amiga Inc to spend the cash to port 3.x and the companies who own the game rights to port to ARM, AROS is going to be the closest thing to a portable embedded device.

Dammy
TeamAROS
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline motorollin

Re: AROS ARM Port?
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2006, 10:27:33 PM »
Quote
amigadave wrote:
I would like to see AmigaOS3.1 or 3.9 ported to ARM and have a cell phone/PDA/GameBoy type of device that would run all the old Amiga games and software.

Porting AmigaOS to ARM won't let you play old Amiga games as you still need to emulate the 0x0 processor and the custom chips. Any OS that can run UAE can do that - so a PDA running embedded Linux with UAE on top would be a much cheaper way of playing all the oldies on a portable device.

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline dammy

Re: AROS ARM Port?
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2006, 10:47:35 PM »
Quote
Porting AmigaOS to ARM won't let you play old Amiga games as you still need to emulate the 0x0 processor and the custom chips. Any OS that can run UAE can do that - so a PDA running embedded Linux with UAE on top would be a much cheaper way of playing all the oldies on a portable device.


Or Arm AROS with EUAE.  :popcorn:

Danny
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline amigadave

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2004
  • Posts: 3836
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.EfficientByDesign.org
Re: AROS ARM Port?
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2006, 12:54:34 AM »
Didn't Sharp have a PDA with a built-in mini keyboard a little while back that was running Linux?  maybe it could run AmigaOS via EUAE?
How are you helping the Amiga community? :)
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS ARM Port?
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2006, 07:39:08 AM »
UAE runs fine on any PDA with a 400Mhz or better CPU.

PocketUAE

Offline motorollin

Re: AROS ARM Port?
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2006, 08:16:55 AM »
Quote
dammy wrote:
Or Arm AROS with EUAE.  :popcorn:

A nice idea, but obviously the AROS developers would expect a royalty for this. So the developers would be more likely to go for an open Linux kernel.

Quote
dammy wrote:
Didn't Sharp have a PDA with a built-in mini keyboard a little while back that was running Linux? maybe it could run AmigaOS via EUAE?

Yes it was called the Zaurus. I had one, and it was cool. Unlike other embedded Linux devices which ran a Linux kernel but you would never know it, the Zaurus had a terminal emulator which allowed you to run Linux commands and explore the filesystem. It was weird seeing a real Posix filesystem on a PDA! In theory, EUAE could be ported to this.

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline InTheSand

Re: AROS ARM Port?
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2006, 08:47:34 AM »
I've still got mine (not that I've used it for years) and I'd be interested to see a UAE port of some type - but does the Zaurus's hardware have enough power to do it justice?

 - Ali
 

Offline motorollin

Re: AROS ARM Port?
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2006, 08:53:29 AM »
The SL-6000 has a 400MHz XScale processor and 64MB of RAM. That should be able to run UAE respectably shouldn't it?

--
moto
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10