Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Contaced a Factory in China about producing a run of fully populated Mini-migs  (Read 17272 times)

Description:

Offline Crom00Topic starter

• Show only replies by Crom00
Hello,

With all this talk about Mini-Migs and the hours required to solder all the chips I figure it may be easier in some ways to just spend more money on purchasing a fully populated motherboard without power supply or abs plastic case.

I contaced a factory in Shenzen China about the producing a run of fully populated Mini-Migs. They should be able to give a minimum order quantity and cost per unit based upon the files on Dennis' site.

I have tried to solder surface mounted componets. To say it ain't easy is an understatement. If you misalign a chip even slightly you can ruin a board and hours of work.

My background is in the toy industry. I have sent many items out for cost analasys since 2000. I have worked on many products and have dealt with Chinese manufacturers in the past.

At the very least we will get real world costs on producing this item.

Offline downix

• Show only replies by downix
    • http://www.applemonthly.com
Let us know, I'd be curious myself, even if I am rolling my own board design.
Try blazedmongers new Free Universal Computer kit, available with the GUI toolkit Your Own Universe, the popular IT edition, Extremely Reliable System for embedded work, Enhanced Database development and Wide Area Development system for telecommuting.

Offline amigadave

• Lifetime Member
    • Show only replies by amigadave
    • http://www.EfficientByDesign.org
I would be interested in this opportunity to get a fully assembled Minimig v1.1.  Please keep looking into this possibility and tell the Chinese manufacturer not to paint any parts of it with that lead based paint that they like to use. :lol:
How are you helping the Amiga community? :)

Offline neuroflip

• Show only replies by neuroflip
    • http://a1200.wordpress.com