Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!  (Read 16407 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gizz72

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #15 on: August 26, 2009, 04:10:00 AM »
That's great news! applicable to all ECS systems!
* click red's first post *
AAAargh!! Fire walled!! Can't see it!! :(
* click red's second post *
:???: that one works?
Good day to all Amigans!
Please Check My FaceBook page
or my Resource Blog @ G.A.R.P.

SAM - SAMSUNG DB-Z2 Dual Core; 1 GB RAM; Dual Drive Win7 and IcarosDesktopv1.5.2
GEORGE - TOSHIBA Satellite J41 ; 512MB RAM; Dual Partition WinXP and IcarosDesktopv1.5.2
MANNY - A1200 + CobraDKB \'030 w/ 32MB + DataFlyer HDD
ASPIREOne D270 + Sata SSD 512GB - Hosted AROSAspireone but it is very slow.
 

Offline NovaCoder

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #16 on: August 26, 2009, 04:22:35 AM »
CloneA lives!

Sorry, couldn't resist ;)
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


Nice Ports on AmiNet!
 

Offline Pyromania

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #17 on: August 26, 2009, 04:28:00 AM »
Quote from: NovaCoder;520933
CloneA lives!

Sorry, couldn't resist ;)



CloneA should be awesome when it ships!!!
 

Offline Karlos

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #18 on: August 26, 2009, 04:57:49 AM »
That's rather impressive :D

Dual head ECS. Who would have thought it? Well, Jens did, obviously, but who else?

When I first got the BVision, I didn't set up the 56kHz audio hack and could still use AGA screens alongside the RTG output. It was actually quite handy for things like fullscreen spectrum emulators :)
int p; // A
 

Offline Schoenfeld

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #19 on: August 26, 2009, 08:16:42 AM »
Quote from: NovaCoder;520933
CloneA lives!


Indeed, Indivision ECS contains a full Denise and does NOT use the original Denise video output. We're snooping the chip bus on the Denise-input-side.

Jens
 

Offline amigadave

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2004
  • Posts: 3836
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.EfficientByDesign.org
Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #20 on: August 26, 2009, 08:23:31 AM »
Quote from: NovaCoder;520921
Very cool, will you be able to drag-and drop between monitors?  How about run one monitor in a different resolution to the other one?  You could then have a 50hz PAL game running on one and have a productivity application open on the other @ 1024x768 ;)

I would be surprised to find the functionality of dragging from one monitor to another, but THAT would be very cool indeed.  But is it as cool since it is only on ECS computers, not AGA?

Still, Jens keeps coming out with one cool Amiga add-on after another and I will probably buy at least one of them if not two or more.  Having two for different Amiga computers I could test out the multiple monitor displays on one Amiga by borrowing one of the ECS Indivisions from one Amiga and placing both in another Amiga.

Way to go Jens, you keep Amiga computing interesting and it just keeps getting better.  I love my two Indivisions for my A1200 and A4000.

P.S. NovaCoder - nice specs in your signature of your A1200 system.
How are you helping the Amiga community? :)
 

Offline Schoenfeld

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #21 on: August 26, 2009, 08:27:59 AM »
Quote from: tone007;520928
I'd bet it's because you can't piggyback the AGA versions like you can the ECS ones.

DIP makes everything so simple.


Correct - the ECS version is a totally different idea. While the AGA version takes it's video data from the Lisa output, the ECS version had to take all data from the "other side" of the chip, as mentioned above. The reason for that was the dirty SHires output of the ECS denise, which is drifting a lot over temperature. There was no way of sampling the Denise output without having to add an adjustment screw.

Such an adjustment screw was not an option - I wanted the product to be compatible without the retro-like pixel flickering that is caused by a bad adjustment. The only way to get around that was to implement a full Denise, as the chip bus runs at a stable 3.5MHz, and it doesn't drift over temperature too much.

That said, it should be clear how we're splitting the screen: Imagine two Denise chips taking the same data, but turning it into different pictures. Although the actual implementation is different, you can imagine one Denise using bitplanes 0 and 1, while the other Denise is taking bitplanes 2 and 3. This can of course only work if the resolution is the same on both screens.

Reality is slightly differnt, as we have the advantage of the full frame buffer and detailed knowledge about the mouse pointer position (chip registers are 100% known to the FPGA), but we do NOT intend to write a WB emulation. Everything must look to the Amiga OS as if it's a single monitor. In this case, it's just twice as wide.

Jens
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #22 on: August 26, 2009, 08:43:28 AM »
Next step, the rest of the chipset :)

Offline ChaosLord

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #23 on: August 26, 2009, 09:04:03 AM »
/me waiting for a 16-bit Paula :)

2 Paula's piggybacked = 8 channels!!!
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #24 on: August 26, 2009, 10:22:19 AM »
Quote from: ChaosLord;520953
/me waiting for a 16-bit Paula :)

2 Paula's piggybacked = 8 channels!!!


8 channels isn't really that useful, since the Amiga only has two physical outputs, 2 16bit channels would have been much more useful.

But since Paula never received an upgrade no software was ever written to take advantage of better audio, so any upgrade to Paula would be a waste of time.

Offline ChaosLord

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #25 on: August 26, 2009, 10:36:49 AM »
16-bit audio software was written decades ago.  It is just waiting for a 16-bit Paula.
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #26 on: August 26, 2009, 10:53:28 AM »
Quote from: ChaosLord;520958
16-bit audio software was written decades ago.  It is just waiting for a 16-bit Paula.

So you'll write drivers for this new 16-bit Paula?
 

Offline Karlos

Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #27 on: August 26, 2009, 11:47:17 AM »
Quote from: bloodline;520957
But since Paula never received an upgrade no software was ever written to take advantage of better audio, so any upgrade to Paula would be a waste of time.

Oh, I dunno. I quite like the idea of a replacement that is register compatible with Paula but extends it with a few extra features. It would be cool if the incoming sample data was internally upsampled to 16/24-bits 44/48kHz, with optional interpolation per channel. In addition you could have a pan register for each channel. Digital output would be very nice too.

Even if all you had to start with was a global "mixer" tool that could bang these new registers directly to globally set the interpolation/panning of each channel it would be better than nothing.
int p; // A
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #28 on: August 26, 2009, 11:59:15 AM »
Quote from: Karlos;520960
Oh, I dunno. I quite like the idea of a replacement that is register compatible with Paula but extends it with a few extra features. It would be cool if the incoming sample data was internally upsampled to 16/24-bits 44/48kHz, with optional interpolation per channel. In addition you could have a pan register for each channel. Digital output would be very nice too.

Even if all you had to start with was a global "mixer" tool that could bang these new registers directly to globally set the interpolation/panning of each channel it would be better than nothing.


yeah it's a nice idea, and the old longing for such a thing is strong... But honestly, a cheap Audio DSP chip off the shelf would be soooooooooo much better it is scary!

Offline graffias79

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2003
  • Posts: 335
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 4
  • Gender: Male
Re: IndivisionECS will have dual video output!
« Reply #29 on: August 26, 2009, 12:33:23 PM »
I think I read somewhere that Paula is a 16 bit chip with 8 bit DACs so that it actually loads 2 8 bit samples at a time.  I am not sure if this is anything useful, though.  Perhaps a Paula 16 AHI driver could be written?  This might also lower the sampling rate of the chip since it achieves 28KHz 8-bit maybe the max would be 14KHz 16-bit (yuck)