Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)  (Read 4846 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline clusteruk

Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« on: November 12, 2010, 09:18:55 PM »
Hi

Check out my new very short video please.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKCHZFYj9Kk

Steve
Amiga 1000/3000, iMica Silent and NVidia Aros computer.
http://www.imica.net
Lets enjoy the Amigas future, THIS year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
 

Offline nicholas

Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2010, 09:32:12 PM »
Very nice indeed! :)
“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini
 

Offline desiv

Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2010, 09:33:38 PM »
OK, that's nice...
That's always been one of my personal (i.e. My OWN, not anything based on anything other than my own feelings; not saying anyone else's definition is wrong!!!) requirements for an OS being "Amiga."...  ;-)

desiv
Amiga 1200 w/ ACA1230/28 - 4G CF, MAS Player, ext floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 500 w/ 2M CHIP and 8M FAST RAM, DCTV, AEHD floppy, and 1084S.
Amiga 1000 w/ 4M FAST RAM, DUAL CF hard drives, external floppy.
 

Offline Franko

Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2010, 09:47:55 PM »
Interesting, Im not big or very knowledgeable on Aros, but I assume from the video it means that screen dragging has only just been achieved on Aros ?

If so then what else does Aros currently lack at the moment and when is it likely to become a fully functioning OS... :)
 

Offline runequester

  • It\'s Amiga time!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 3695
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2010, 10:14:13 PM »
Very nice :)

Does it do different resolutions on each screen ?
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2010, 10:30:33 PM »
Quote from: Franko;591277
Interesting, Im not big or very knowledgeable on Aros, but I assume from the video it means that screen dragging has only just been achieved on Aros ?

If so then what else does Aros currently lack at the moment and when is it likely to become a fully functioning OS... :)
It's already fully functioning, now is just a case of adding the feature that people want... download one of the distributions burn up a CD an play with it :)

Offline clusteruk

Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2010, 10:39:07 PM »
Quote from: runequester;591283
Very nice :)

Does it do different resolutions on each screen ?


I have been asked this question a lot and I removed part of the video that showed this just to introduce the new feature. I will do another next week to show all parts of the functionality with multiple screens diferent resolutions etc.
Amiga 1000/3000, iMica Silent and NVidia Aros computer.
http://www.imica.net
Lets enjoy the Amigas future, THIS year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
 

Offline runequester

  • It\'s Amiga time!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 3695
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2010, 10:40:44 PM »
Quote from: clusteruk;591297
I have been asked this question a lot and I removed part of the video that showed this just to introduce the new feature. I will do another next week to show all parts of the functionality with multiple screens diferent resolutions etc.


awesome :) Can't wait to see it
 

Offline clusteruk

Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2010, 10:43:35 PM »
Quote from: Franko;591277
Interesting, Im not big or very knowledgeable on Aros, but I assume from the video it means that screen dragging has only just been achieved on Aros ?

If so then what else does Aros currently lack at the moment and when is it likely to become a fully functioning OS... :)


Aros has most functionality needed now, when ICAROS 1.2.5 is ready, download it and try it, there is no charge except for the hardware. If you send me a 4gb memory stick I can set it up for you and post back to try on any pc.

Steve
Amiga 1000/3000, iMica Silent and NVidia Aros computer.
http://www.imica.net
Lets enjoy the Amigas future, THIS year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
 

Offline save2600

Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2010, 10:44:23 PM »
Proper screen dragging... sweet!  I really should dust off one of these WinTel boxes and play around with Aros one of these days.

Looks like with the help of Icaros, one has the capability to turn their WinTel box into something fun. I really need to look into this stuff more.

Not trying to start a flame war, but wondering what people prefer here:

Aros - Needs Windoze booted first and then Aros program?
Icaros - looks to be a self-booting Aros environment?
MorphOS - This I've played around with, nice faux/enahnced AmigaOS - too bad the Apple conversions done for it lately are dancing around all the models I own  :(
 

Offline TheGoose

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 1458
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 0
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.amiga.org/forums/blog.php?u=827
Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2010, 10:46:35 PM »
AROS is looking pretty damn cool.
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I\'m on Google +
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2010, 10:57:20 PM »
Quote from: save2600;591300
Proper screen dragging... sweet!  I really should dust off one of these WinTel boxes and play around with Aros one of these days.

Looks like with the help of Icaros, one has the capability to turn their WinTel box into something fun. I really need to look into this stuff more.

Not trying to start a flame war, but wondering what people prefer here:

Aros - Needs Windoze booted first and then Aros program?


Just want to point out that AROS has never needed Windows to boot (in fact it couldn't until a year ago, be hosted in Windows)... I have only ever used the x86 native (self booting version) for the past 10 years.

Quote

Icaros - looks to be a self-booting Aros environment?


Icaros is a distribution, which comes with Apps and has the preferences set up in a certain way. This is one of the nicest ways to try AROS... but you can download the nightly builds which are more raw (i.e. like AOS 3.1), but work just the same.

Offline save2600

Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2010, 11:01:45 PM »
Quote from: bloodline;591306
Just want to point out that AROS has never needed Windows to boot (in fact it couldn't until a year ago, be hosted in Windows)... I have only ever used the x86 native (self booting version) for the past 10 years.

Thanks for clarifying. I misunderstood what you said previously in response #6  :)
 

Offline eb15

Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2010, 11:04:33 PM »
Screen dragging was functional under AROS windows hosted version before.
Its nice to see screen dragging has been achieved in AROS nouveau driver for people who want to run AROS native with hardware accelerated graphics.
 

Offline Franko

Re: Aros has a new trick Video, don't miss it :-)
« Reply #14 on: November 12, 2010, 11:08:32 PM »
Quote from: clusteruk;591299
Aros has most functionality needed now, when ICAROS 1.2.5 is ready, download it and try it, there is no charge except for the hardware. If you send me a 4gb memory stick I can set it up for you and post back to try on any pc.

Steve


Thanks for the kind offer, but I've never owned a PC (and after much debate recently I'm even more convinced I never will...), I was under the impression that Aros was a bit like Classic OS4.0 (only better) and could be run on Classic Amiga hardware. Looks like I'll have to do a bit more reading up about just what Aros is. :)

Thanks anyway... :)

Franko