Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: A1000 boots to blinking red screen  (Read 1252 times)

Description:

Offline SEgamerTopic starter

• Show only replies by SEgamer
A1000 boots to blinking red screen
« on: November 21, 2011, 02:45:06 PM »
I recently got an A1000 that has some issues. I'm new to amiga stuff and trying to educate myself on it, so please correct me if I'm wrong.

The problem:
The system immediately boots to a blinking red screen. There is no response from the floppy drive when a floppy is in it.(I had to point that out because on another site people kept saying to insert a kickstart floppy). There's no grey screen at all before that. If I remember correctly there's different grey screens, one for each major component, that are displayed during the boot sequence correct?

I looked up the error colors and red appears to be a bad checksum from the boot roms. I'm just wondering if anyone else has had this problem and trying to confirm that it is the roms.

My other question is that should the screen blink or should it stay red? I'm wondering if another chip is causing a timing error and/or other things to reset. I pulled and re-seated every socketed chip and checked the voltages on the psu, but still have the same results.

Offline spirantho

Re: A1000 boots to blinking red screen
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2011, 03:27:43 PM »
Does your A1000 have a Kickstart ROM or just the bootstrap? In other words, if you boot it without a disk, does it come up prompting for a Workbench disk or a Kickstart disk?
--
Ian Gledhill
ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (except it should be internEt of course...!)
Check out my shop! http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/shop/ - for 8-bit (and soon 16-bit) goodness!

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2011, 05:17:57 PM »
It only has the bootstrap ROMs. I get the same results with and without a floppy in the drive.

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2011, 07:04:38 PM »