Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Terrasoft sell Teron CX  (Read 2967 times)

Description:

Offline anarchic_teapotTopic starter

• Show only replies by anarchic_teapot
    • http://anarchic-teapot.net
Terrasoft sell Teron CX
« on: December 03, 2002, 09:38:45 AM »
Terrasoft have just announced they'll be selling the G3 Teron CX board with YDL.

Pricing similar to the AmigaOne, but graphics support in Linux limited to AGP 128 Rage Pro.

AT

Offline AmigaMac

• Show only replies by AmigaMac
Re: Terrasoft sell Teron CX
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2002, 11:33:42 AM »
Yeah, I agree that graphics support is alittle weak!  It's great to see another PPC motherboard on the market though!

Offline Darken

• Show only replies by Darken
    • http://perso.wanadoo.fr/psydk
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2002, 11:56:05 AM »
Of course it's great to see another PowerPC platform. Actually as a developer I really like this processor.

But this makes me think that the AmigaOne (or the Pegasos) is just like this new PPC platform : nothing original. Just take a PC and replace the x86 compatible and some electronic chips and you get it.

When Amiga came out in the 80's the hardware was so interesting. I'd like to see a computer with some kind of terrific hardware again. At present we only get interesting hardware in game consoles. But they remain consoles !

Offline AmigaMac

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2002, 12:03:02 PM »
But this makes me think that the AmigaOne (or the Pegasos) is just like this new PPC platform : nothing original. Just take a PC and replace the x86 compatible and some electronic chips and you get it.

Yeah true, but I am glad to see more and more support for PPC where desktop computing is concerned... maybe this will open the doors of opportunity once again for PowerPC (beyond all things Mac).

Offline Herewegoagain

• Show only replies by Herewegoagain
    • Http://www.ncscaug.us
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2002, 12:11:25 PM »