Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: UPDATED In-place upgrade of ClassicWB to 3.2/3.2.1  (Read 2909 times)

Description:

Offline AndyFCTopic starter

UPDATED In-place upgrade of ClassicWB to 3.2/3.2.1
« on: June 26, 2021, 12:54:50 PM »
I've updated this guide because of the release of 3.2.1 (the process is largely the same) but also because I've figured out a good way of being able to switch between the Scalos and Amiga Workbench loadwb commands.

I've just finished updating my installation to Amiga OS 3.2. I wanted to keep ClassicWB and to not have a completely fresh install as I've been using my current set up for about 7 or 8 years and it's highly tailored. I use the AdvSP version of ClassicWB.

I practiced this using a backup of my real Amiga in WinUAE.

1: Make a backup. If you can't do everything, then, as a minimum:
 - startup-sequence
 - user-startup
 - the .info files for all the icons in your system: drive
 - If using a version of ClassicWB with Scalos, backup c:loadwb

2: Install 3.2 using Intermediate User options.
 - When asked about keeping old files, ensure you don't remove c:execute. Many of the ClassicWB buttons require this. This was excluded as a command in 3.2 but reintroduced in 3.2.1.
 - Don't install GlowIcons

3: After installation and before reboot edit s:user-startup and remove (or better, comment out by adding a ; to the beginning of the line) any attempts to run rexxmast. This is now called from the main startup-sequence and will cause errors if you leave them all to run.

4: Save your changes then reboot. You'll get a clean 3.2 environment. If you get a warning about rexxmast and stuck at the command prompt, just type 'loadwb' to get to the GUI and check the actions from step 3.

When you successfully boot you need to update S:startup-sequence. This is where it starts getting more intricate. As the startup-sequence will change for each person I can't give step-by-step instructions to cover various scenarios.