Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Writing a Printer Driver for AmigaOS  (Read 1453 times)

Description:

Offline TwinTopic starter

• Show only replies by Twin
Writing a Printer Driver for AmigaOS
« on: May 24, 2004, 03:14:57 AM »
I have some experience in programming (C, C++, BASIC etc) and I also work for a company that manufactures printer cartridges and printer components. So I thought I might look into what would be needed to write drivers for AmigaOS 4 and maybe even 3.x I have access to pretty much all Canon and HP printer models.

I don't have OS4 yet but I plan to soonish, I've just bought an A1200 and I can use WINUAE. I have no experience writing drivers, what language are they written in? Are there any helpful guides available?

Offline mikrucio

• Party Mix \'87
    • Show only replies by mikrucio
Re: Writing a Printer Driver for AmigaOS
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2004, 03:58:34 AM »
Sorry i cant help other than saying that writing
device drivers are very hard indeed.

but dont let that stop you do some research.

regards

Offline mongo

• Show only replies by mongo
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2004, 04:07:51 AM »
You can get the source for several printer drivers here. I'm prety sure there's also a few on Aminet.

Offline Steady

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2004, 09:35:20 AM »
The Amiga RKM Devices manual has information on writing printer drivers for 2.x (which is pretty much the same as 3.x).

Not sure where to get information about writing OS4-specific printer drivers.

The printer drivers tend to be a mix of C and assembler.

Offline Cymric

• Show only replies by Cymric
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2004, 10:57:27 AM »