Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: OT fork(): bloodline and Karlos erm... discuss Objective-C & C++ :)  (Read 3714 times)

Description:

Offline Karlos

• Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: DiscreetFX Platform Shift
« Reply #14 from previous page: November 05, 2010, 02:47:48 PM »
Quote from: bloodline;589583
Yeah, I still have to explain that one to people... My degree was CHEMISTRY not pharmacy... :)

For God's sake, Jim, I'm a chemist, not a forklift!

@karlos your diatribe shakes my confidence in Obj-C, but I honestly couldn't really imagine doing another large high level project in anything but Obj-C... Then again I couldn't even begin to imagine how bloated and inefficient doing Microcontroller work would be in anything but C++... As my (disgustingly successful developer friend once said), you just pick the right tool for the right job!

Hmmm, as once last shout for Obj-C... I think in numbing I see is as BOOPSI done right... :)

Don't let me put you off. Programming language preferences are personal things. There's plenty to dislike in any language if you prefer a different one. I like C++ because it basically gives me the tools to write code from very simple procedural C-style stuff right up to full blown OO/generics with meta-programming and all that jazz. Consequently, it pretty much always feels like the right tool for the job for me. Even the simplest stuff you'd normally do in vanilla C I still tend compile in strict C++ mode.

The problem I have is Karlos's objections are well founded, but I feel he is coming at Obj-C from the wrong angle

If it helps, I disliked it long before apple got their mits on it :D
« Last Edit: November 05, 2010, 02:51:08 PM by Karlos »
int p; // A

Offline Karlos

• Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2010, 02:56:39 PM »
Man, we've gotten so far off-topic. I'm actually considering moving half of this to a developer discussion thread :D