Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+  (Read 1640 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kollaTopic starter

Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+
« on: December 21, 2022, 09:15:16 PM »
They should have hundreds of megabytes for that price. This product does not have enough RAM to even boot any non-ancient AmigaOS (OS3.5 or later).

Nonsense, just drop all that Reaction BS that isn’t required for anything marginally usefull anyways and 3.2.1 it boots just fine!

Am I pulling your leg?
You betcha! But really, RAWBInfo and ASyncWB are memory gobblers, at least one of them seem to eat more and more ram over time as well. Consider this a bug report, you guys prefer to collect bug reports like this, so be it.

You current OS h4x0rs should be forced to test all your bloat on 68000 systems with 2MB of RAM tops. Did I say test? I mean use.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2022, 09:16:21 PM by kolla »
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
---
A3000/060CSPPC+CVPPC/128MB + 256MB BigRAM/Deneb USB
A4000/CS060/Mediator4000Di/Voodoo5/128MB
A1200/Blz1260/IndyAGA/192MB
A1200/Blz1260/64MB
A1200/Blz1230III/32MB
A1200/ACA1221
A600/V600v2/Subway USB
A600/Apollo630/32MB
A600/A6095
CD32/SX32/32MB/Plipbox
CD32/TF328
A500/V500v2
A500/MTec520
CDTV
MiSTer, MiST, FleaFPGAs and original Minimig
Peg1, SAM440 and Mac minis with MorphOS
 

Offline Minuous

Re: Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2022, 09:01:25 AM »
No ReAction classes are opened during startup so their presence isn't going to affect the amount of RAM needed to boot the OS. The first time the AsyncWB or RAWBInfo windows are opened, several classes will be opened, which will of course cause a loss of memory until they are explicitly flushed by the user, or the OS needs to do so, the same with any other library.

I'm not getting any memory leaks here on a vanilla install. If you have a specific sequence of actions that result in a leak, I'm happy to investigate further and fix.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2022, 11:28:20 AM by Minuous »
 

Offline F0LLETT

  • Amigakit / A-EON Support
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2007
  • Posts: 483
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 13 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by F0LLETT
    • Ultimate Amiga
Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2022, 12:34:14 PM »
Topic split.

You can continue your pointless comments here. Thanks for derailing the original thread.
Quote from: Hungry Horace
Resolute and Industrious Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire
Ultimate Amiga Network (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)

Quote from:  He who shall not be named
"Chris is that you!!!"
My all time favorite quote.
 

Offline kollaTopic starter

Re: Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+
« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2022, 09:59:37 AM »
I'm not getting any memory leaks here on a vanilla install. If you have a specific sequence of actions that result in a leak, I'm happy to investigate further and fix.

Open your sys: volume, whatever it is called, pick "Utilitiies", select "copy" from Icon menu, let it make a copy, select the copy, select "Delete..." from Icon menu and confirm on the requester.
Repeat till you run out of RAM.

And yes, Avail FLUSH won't give you RAM back.
And yes, it ONLY happens with ASyncWB.

RAWBInfo seems "clean", it just gobbles up another 120 kB for each window it opens, but that RAM is released on closing, and gives back RAM on exit.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2022, 10:13:44 AM by kolla »
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
---
A3000/060CSPPC+CVPPC/128MB + 256MB BigRAM/Deneb USB
A4000/CS060/Mediator4000Di/Voodoo5/128MB
A1200/Blz1260/IndyAGA/192MB
A1200/Blz1260/64MB
A1200/Blz1230III/32MB
A1200/ACA1221
A600/V600v2/Subway USB
A600/Apollo630/32MB
A600/A6095
CD32/SX32/32MB/Plipbox
CD32/TF328
A500/V500v2
A500/MTec520
CDTV
MiSTer, MiST, FleaFPGAs and original Minimig
Peg1, SAM440 and Mac minis with MorphOS
 
The following users thanked this post: Minuous

Offline Minuous

Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2022, 06:34:48 PM »
OK, thanks for the report; this has now been fixed.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2022, 06:38:32 PM by Minuous »
 

Offline kollaTopic starter

Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2022, 05:54:19 AM »
Nothing is really fixed until update is actually on my disk drive.

Which apparently takes months and years.
And arbitrarily requires me to pay, yet again, for the same crap, only with new set of bugs.
And support Hyperion? Meh!
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
---
A3000/060CSPPC+CVPPC/128MB + 256MB BigRAM/Deneb USB
A4000/CS060/Mediator4000Di/Voodoo5/128MB
A1200/Blz1260/IndyAGA/192MB
A1200/Blz1260/64MB
A1200/Blz1230III/32MB
A1200/ACA1221
A600/V600v2/Subway USB
A600/Apollo630/32MB
A600/A6095
CD32/SX32/32MB/Plipbox
CD32/TF328
A500/V500v2
A500/MTec520
CDTV
MiSTer, MiST, FleaFPGAs and original Minimig
Peg1, SAM440 and Mac minis with MorphOS
 

Offline Minuous

Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2022, 06:57:07 AM »
Actually OS3.2.2 is very close to release (currently scheduled for January 2023) and will be a free update.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2022, 07:06:10 AM by Minuous »
 

Offline F0LLETT

  • Amigakit / A-EON Support
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2007
  • Posts: 483
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 13 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by F0LLETT
    • Ultimate Amiga
Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2022, 08:37:44 AM »
Any info on changes / fixes.

As the floppy and pcmcia issues are really annoying. Yes, if I go back to 3.1.4 both issues are resolved.
Quote from: Hungry Horace
Resolute and Industrious Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire
Ultimate Amiga Network (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)

Quote from:  He who shall not be named
"Chris is that you!!!"
My all time favorite quote.
 

Offline kollaTopic starter

Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2022, 10:50:47 AM »
As the floppy and pcmcia issues are really annoying.

What issues are those? Described where? Confirmed by whom?
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
---
A3000/060CSPPC+CVPPC/128MB + 256MB BigRAM/Deneb USB
A4000/CS060/Mediator4000Di/Voodoo5/128MB
A1200/Blz1260/IndyAGA/192MB
A1200/Blz1260/64MB
A1200/Blz1230III/32MB
A1200/ACA1221
A600/V600v2/Subway USB
A600/Apollo630/32MB
A600/A6095
CD32/SX32/32MB/Plipbox
CD32/TF328
A500/V500v2
A500/MTec520
CDTV
MiSTer, MiST, FleaFPGAs and original Minimig
Peg1, SAM440 and Mac minis with MorphOS
 

Offline F0LLETT

  • Amigakit / A-EON Support
  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2007
  • Posts: 483
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 13 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Show only replies by F0LLETT
    • Ultimate Amiga
Re: Cant boot os's 3.1.4, 3.2, 3.5+
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2022, 12:57:11 PM »
What issues are those? Described where? Confirmed by whom?

Writing a floppy without verify causes disk errors. Same task with 3.1.4, works perfect every time.

Inserting PCMCIA adapter, does nothing. Removing CF then inserting adapter, then 5 secs later inserting CF into adapter, it takes around 20 seconds to show.
If you are unlucky, it trashes card. Same task in 3.1.4 works perfectly, instantly see's card and adapter without messing about.



Quote from: Hungry Horace
Resolute and Industrious Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire
Ultimate Amiga Network (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)

Quote from:  He who shall not be named
"Chris is that you!!!"
My all time favorite quote.