Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: AROS Booting Up  (Read 1839 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 4pLaY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2002
  • Posts: 779
  • Country: no
  • Total likes: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • https://www.amigalife.org
AROS Booting Up
« on: July 11, 2002, 08:38:41 PM »
AROS won't boot on your PC?  You would still like to see what it looks like?  Take a look here at these pics.


Offline System

Mac Monitor?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2002, 09:20:27 PM »
Did anyone else notice at the bottom of the last pic that the monitor has an Apple logo? Is this running on a Mac perhaps? It'd be very interesting to find out. :)
 

Offline whabang

Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2002, 09:27:18 PM »
Naah... The Apple monitors are great. A friend of mine is using one for his PC too.
Beating the dead horse since 2002.
 

Offline Coder

Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2002, 09:34:20 PM »
Aros is x86 only.

Coder
Check it out - I found the ass-end!
 

Offline redrumloa

  • Original Omega User
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 10126
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2002, 09:42:18 PM »
Quote
Aros is x86 only.


No it's not! AROS is intended to be completely portable. As a matter of fact there is also a 68K native version of AROS for classic Amigas.
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
 

Offline falemagn

Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2002, 09:44:35 PM »
Quote
Aros is x86 only.


That's not exact. Althought it's currently mainly developed on x86, it can run everywhere you port it to. It's been ported also to the Palm Pilot, for example, which has got a 68k compatible processor.

Fabio Alemagna
 

Offline Coder

Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2002, 09:46:32 PM »
Quote
Althought it's currently mainly developed on x86


That is what I mean. Seems I was somewhere else with my head at the time of the posting. Ok, 1 down, 2 more to go and I am out. :-D

Coder
Check it out - I found the ass-end!
 

Offline Coder

Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2002, 09:53:45 PM »
Hi Fabio,

I think there is still a lot of work left on the Workbench, right?

Coder
Check it out - I found the ass-end!
 

Offline 4pLaY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2002
  • Posts: 779
  • Country: no
  • Total likes: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • https://www.amigalife.org
Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2002, 09:55:57 PM »
The WB is currenty beeing worked on! as of right now Aros has no WB only a cli window.

Offline whabang

Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2002, 10:05:09 PM »
Quote
Seems I was somewhere else with my head at the time of the posting.

In another bucket?  :-)

BTW, I didn't know the Motorola Dragonball was 68k compatible... How fas is it compared to the original 68k?
Beating the dead horse since 2002.
 

Offline Ogun

Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2002, 10:24:39 PM »
Nope, it is really just me liking that monitor. The PC running AROS in this case can be seen in front of my keyboard http://smaug.moranet.se/~ogun/office.jpg">here.

It is an Athlon 650 with two harddrives, one SCSI running the linux dev environment, and one ATA having AROS installed in a FFS partition.
 

Offline System

Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2002, 11:46:22 PM »
Ahh... Dashing my hopes for my G4 Tower.. :)
 

Offline gnarly

Re: Mac Monitor?
« Reply #12 on: July 12, 2002, 04:32:51 PM »
Quote
Ahh... Dashing my hopes for my G4 Tower.. :)
No doubt someone will come up with a hack to let AOS4 run on there :-)
Cheers,

Olly
Think Drastic