Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Amiga 2000 HD Upgrade  (Read 697 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dean62Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2022
  • Posts: 2
    • Show only replies by Dean62
Amiga 2000 HD Upgrade
« on: May 13, 2022, 07:47:37 PM »
Questions for all.  I have an old Amiga 2000 HD with Rev 6.2 board and WB 2.04.

What Upgrades would all of you recommend and what highest version Workbench can I run?  I would like 3.1.4. Do I need the Kickstart ROM?

Thanks for the advice

Dean
 

Offline AndyFC

Re: Amiga 2000 HD Upgrade
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2022, 09:08:48 PM »
Hi. You should be able to run 3.2. Is there any reason you want to run the older 3.1.4.

You will need to upgrade the kickstart chip anyway. It's only really 3.1 upwards that allow you to run later versions of WB without upgrading kickstart chips.

What CPU do you have? Some upgrades will allow you to softkick the kickstart instead of swapping the chip.
A1200 in DIY Tower. 3.2.1 ROMs, 3.5" HD, CD RW and IDE to SD adapter running off the internal IDE port (using the A4000 4-port IDE adapter from Amigakit), Blizzard 1230-IV, with 32MB 60ns RAM and 50MHz 68882 FPU. 3COM PCMCIA Network card running with Miami DX. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PrGdL6XjmE

MorphOS on PowerMac G5 and ATI 9600 pro
 

Offline QuikSanz

Re: Amiga 2000 HD Upgrade
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2022, 11:46:47 PM »
A stock Amiga 2000HD has a 209X SCSI controller I think, no memory. Your computer should have a 1 meg Agnus with 1 meg chip mem, no fast. Add an accelerator with a bit of memory on it and you have something. I use an old GVP Combo 030/40 with controller on it. good all around machine, compatible. To run newer Versions you must have a minimum amount of memory, usually 2 meg or so of fast, the more the better.

Chris
« Last Edit: May 13, 2022, 11:55:46 PM by QuikSanz »
 

Offline Dean62Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2022
  • Posts: 2
    • Show only replies by Dean62
Re: Amiga 2000 HD Upgrade
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2022, 01:56:23 AM »
Thanks for the replies.  I have a Supra Turbo 28 Accelerator installed, the 1 Mb Chip and 2 meg fast ram:

So looks like I should get the 3.1 ROM to run WB 3.2.

Thanks for the help all!
 

Offline AndyFC

Re: Amiga 2000 HD Upgrade
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2022, 03:54:07 PM »
With different kickstart and software it's a bit if a balancing act. Whilst you can run OS 3.1.4 and 3.2 on Kickstart 3.1 you will lose some RAM because there will be software patches applied.


A1200 in DIY Tower. 3.2.1 ROMs, 3.5" HD, CD RW and IDE to SD adapter running off the internal IDE port (using the A4000 4-port IDE adapter from Amigakit), Blizzard 1230-IV, with 32MB 60ns RAM and 50MHz 68882 FPU. 3COM PCMCIA Network card running with Miami DX. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PrGdL6XjmE

MorphOS on PowerMac G5 and ATI 9600 pro