Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Interview with Ilkka Lehtoranta.  (Read 2745 times)

Description:

Offline saib0tTopic starter

• Show only replies by saib0t
Interview with Ilkka Lehtoranta.
« on: April 15, 2013, 07:20:49 PM »
Time for another fine interview from us at MorphOS Nordic.
This time it's Ilkka Lehtoranra that has answered our questions.

* Can you tell us a bit about yourself.

My name is Ilkka Lehtoranta, living with my fiancee in Jyväskylä, Finland.
I work in the machine vision industry working on C# and embedded projects.

* Tell us a bit about your computer history.

It was in early 80s when I found about Commodore VIC-20 and got immediately hooked at it.
It was very exciting but it was not until late 80s until got my first computer,
Commodore 64. I wrote simple BASIC programs on it but I never managed to do anything
serious with it. I tried to learn writing programs in machine language but without
knowledge resources it was hopeless. When I got Amiga 500 I started to experience
coding more seriously and crafted some small and rudimentary tools.

* When did you first get in touch with Amiga and later MorphOS?

It was in late 80s when my friends were getting new Amiga 500 and I had to get one, too.
Finally in 1990 I bought my first Amiga 500. Somehow I managed to get an access
to A68k compiler and some system header files to experiment with Amiga coding.
I wrote some small and not so small utilities in a 68k assembly. It was fun.

Many many years later in 2000 or 2001 when Piru was looking for beta testers for MorphOS.
The MorphOS was completely new to me. In fact I knew absolutely nothing about it nor its
competitor OS4. My interest on Amiga had been wading due to lack of progress,
news and general stagnation but I got interested because there were many talented persons
working on it. There was finally good use for my BlizzardPPC and about same time I got in