Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Plea for coherent emulation program!  (Read 1995 times)

Description:

Offline thomsedaviTopic starter

• Show only replies by thomsedavi
    • http://brickdale.comicgenesis.com
Plea for coherent emulation program!
« on: May 13, 2006, 11:32:17 AM »
I downloaded an Amiga emulator onto my Mac the other day and if there's one thing it hasn't been designed for, it's user friendliness. I looked through the docs for some kind of 'idiots guide' to using the emulator, just a step-by-step guide of doing something basic like running Lemmings, but it was all so incredibly difficult to read. I'm not an emulation expert! I just want to play some old games!

I think this is the reason GUI interface interfaces were invented for computers in the first place, so that people didn't have to be computer experts to do computer computing.

I think it would be neat if there was a GUI to actually represent a physical amiga. In one window you would have the amiga screen, and it would be shaped like an actual amiga monitor. And then there would be the amiga itself, and a disk box representing all the software in your software file. And when you open the emulator the Amiga screen would have the 'insert disk' page on it, and you would click and drag disks into the diskdrive. Maybe there would even be a noise like the disk drive loading, but that could be turned off. And when the computer asks for disk 2, you would push the disk eject button, drag disk 1 back into the box and disk 2 into the drive. It wouldn't go so far as you having to click the mouse on the amiga keyboard to press a key, because that's obviously a bit too far - the physical keyboard would work fine.

:idea: