Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Hi from a new amiga user!  (Read 1456 times)

Description:

Hi from a new amiga user!
« on: May 08, 2008, 04:03:37 AM »
Hi, everyone! I'm Patrick, and I'm new to Amigas. I've been lurking for a little bit, and thought I'd properly introduce myself. I just bought an A1200 for which I'm waiting to get roms and workbench 3.1 from amigakit. I'm also going to try to build an A3000D system from parts. I love tinkering with hardware - I write software for a living, and find it relaxing to close the lid on my windoze laptop and play around with older machines. I was an apple //c user back in the 80s/early 90s, ran a BBS off of a Mac in the mid-90s, and collected wierd machines for a while (trs-80 model 12, osbourne portable) but I wasn't able to hold onto most of it due to moving around. I wanted to get something I could have fun with that would be really nice and for some reason, visions of Amigas popped right into my head. :) It makes sense, I suppose, because I have a whole host of books and data sheets for the m68k family which will make things easier - now if only I can find the box they're in, lol. This seems like a nice board, with many friendly users. Thank you to the admins for running it!

Offline trekiej

Re: Hi from a new amiga user!
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2008, 04:23:58 AM »
Welcome.
My name is Rick and I am from the East Texas area.
I believe you will find a cool crew here.
Jump right in and enjoy the fun.
Amiga 2000 Forever :)
Welcome to the Planar System.

Offline mbrantley

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2008, 04:55:52 AM »
New blood! Love reading a post about when the Amiga ranks grow by one instead of shrinking by that number. Welcome, Patrick.

Coincidentally, I just bought an Apple //c to play around with. Had to get a USB-to-RS232 adapter so I could connect it to my Mac with a null modem.

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2008, 02:24:08 AM »
Thanks for welcoming me.