Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: About multitasking, what's best : AmigaOS, Linux, or Winblows XP ?  (Read 7103 times)

Description:

Offline ptekTopic starter

• Show only replies by ptek
Hello,

Multitasking seems to be a hot matter these days.

For who use a lot Linux and Winblows (XP, 2000, NT) could please tell us what OS does best multitasking and why. Amiga still does it better than the others ?

And I was forgetting MacOS ...

Please justify your claims :)
Onions have layers ...

Offline Tomas

• Show only replies by Tomas
Re: About multitasking, what's best : AmigaOS, Linux, or Winblows XP ?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2006, 04:02:27 PM »
AmigaOS.. I am no expert on the multitasking in windows and linux, but it does seem to give a smoother experience when multitasking under amigaos.
BeOS multitasking also seemed to work in a similar way to AmigaOS.

Offline ptekTopic starter

• Show only replies by ptek
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2006, 04:07:42 PM »
So, the Amiga is better at multitasking than Linux ?
Onions have layers ...

Offline Tomas

• Show only replies by Tomas
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2006, 04:22:13 PM »

ptek wrote:
So, the Amiga is better at multitasking than Linux ?

From how it feels to me, then yes. But i can only talk from a user perspective.

Offline Zac67

• Show only replies by Zac67
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2006, 04:23:38 PM »
IMHO AmigaOS performs better than Windows XP & Linux because it features a more modern microkernel.
Windows NT/2k/XP/2k3 started out as a micro kernel, but was evolved into a hybrid.
OS X shares the same fate, but to a much lesser degree.
Nearly all Un*x flavors use a monolithic kernel that actually caused Linux to scale very badly when it came to SMP some years ago.

Offline itix

• Show only replies by itix
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2006, 04:30:41 PM »