Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: My A1 G4 XE arrived today  (Read 3145 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mbillaTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 71
    • Show only replies by mbilla
Re: My A1 G4 XE arrived today
« Reply #14 from previous page: April 29, 2003, 11:15:48 PM »

Quote
What is that msdos thing with your a1000, though?


See this page for more infos.
Side car A1060

The Sidecar A1060 was the first hardware PC card with 8080 to connect to the Zorro I port of the Amiga 1000.
This box has expansion slots for plane PC cards.

Later the sidecar became the A2286 and A2386 cards for the Zorro II slots (A2000/A3000/A4000).
My A4000 has the A2386 card installed.

The sidecar runs plain MS DOS as OS. Well it's mainly to show people what was possible 1985. :-)
 

Offline mbillaTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 71
    • Show only replies by mbilla
Re: My A1 G4 XE arrived today
« Reply #15 on: April 29, 2003, 11:19:21 PM »
Quote
A REAL collector would have an A500+, A1500, stock A3000 and a nice A4000 tower...


Well I never was happy with the A500(+).
The A1500 never appeared in Europe at least not in the shops I visited.
I had 2 A3000: one became the A3000UX when I got my A3000T (which is in daily use since 1992) and the other A3000 was exchanged for my A4000.

As for the A4000T it was too expensive but I would like to have one, but the original one with SCSI-2 and IDE bus. :-D
 

Offline mbillaTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 71
    • Show only replies by mbilla
Re: My A1 G4 XE arrived today
« Reply #16 on: April 29, 2003, 11:24:26 PM »
@takemehomegrandma

Quote
Wow, what a collector!


Thx 8-)

Quote
OK, tell us about your first impressions with the A1!


I just looked at the board and it looks professionally produced.

I can't try it yet as I still have to buy a HD and GFX Card.
As for the HD I would like to have a Seagate Baracuda 80 GIG or 120 GIG.
But for the GFX card I'm still checking the emails in the A1 developers mailing list.
I want to have an ATI card that's for sure but which brand and chip I'm uncertain.
 

Offline mbillaTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 71
    • Show only replies by mbilla
Re: My A1 G4 XE arrived today
« Reply #17 on: April 29, 2003, 11:27:56 PM »
@Ami603

Quote
Nor it is The Access 1200 system i have here,but it runs nicely.BTW, the board was designed by Mick Tinker.Anyone remembers?


Yes I know but that would be a nice Amiga inside my A3000T or even inside the A1 :-)

I really don't need the draco I have the VLAB SVHS card in my A3000T and iMovie on my IMAC :-) that replaces the DRACO :-)

Mick Tinker yes I remember. Wasn't that Pleasance time during Commodore bankruptcy?
 

Offline Ami603

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2002
  • Posts: 180
    • Show only replies by Ami603
Re: My A1 G4 XE arrived today
« Reply #18 on: April 29, 2003, 11:31:56 PM »
@Mbilla:

AmigaOne versus Access.
   Can we trade?
:-D:-D:-D:-D:-D:-D:-D:-D:-D:-D:-D

Seemms that i need some Sleeping anyway,so better ask me tomorrow :-o
AmigaOne X1000
 

Offline Tafka

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2002
  • Posts: 98
    • Show only replies by Tafka
Re: My A1 G4 XE arrived today
« Reply #19 on: April 30, 2003, 12:15:11 AM »
Quote

Well the board, 512 MB RAM, and
This SUNTEK tower


Ahh, same case as me!  Perhaps we can make it the official case!
 :-D