Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: OT: PC network problem  (Read 903 times)

Description:

Offline KayTopic starter

• Show only replies by Kay
    • http://www.stud.ntnu.no/~kayare
OT: PC network problem
« on: January 12, 2003, 10:21:07 PM »
I was wondering if someone here could help me out with a PC problem. I work as a network assistant at the student village where I live, which basically means that I help people connect to the Internet facilities. Unfortunately, I've encountered a problem which I so far have been unable to solve. I've asked several people for suggestions, but so far, no luck. Since I know that a lot of you have more knowledge of Windows-platforms than me, I was hoping maybe someone here could help. To the problem:
At my student village, we are using an Ethernet network to connect to the outside world. A DHCP server is managing things, so connecting is usually just a matter of installing a NIC and drivers, then installing a TCP/IP stack, and setting it to use DHCP. This is all done correctly on the computer I'm having problems with. However, instead of connecting and staying online, it is periodically being connected and disconnected. The periods are seemingly irregular. I have measured the connection port in the apartment while the computer is disconnected, and it seems to be fine (there's a regular flurry of packets arriving). The computer is a relatively fast AMD, with WindowsME installed. When it is disconnected, it reports "Cable not connected", but I doubt that is very accurate. I have encountered the exact same symptoms previously. Back then I tried changing both the cable and the NIC, but to no avail. Other stuff I have tried includes locking the link speed (as some NIC's are known to have problems negotiating the speed between themselves and the switches when set to autosense) and turning off power management for the card (a longshot, I know).