Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?  (Read 1851 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chuckheiderTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 7
    • Show only replies by chuckheider
Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« on: November 18, 2009, 01:39:42 PM »
I recently picked up an Amiga 3000 & an Amiga 500. I'd like to set up the Amiga 3000 to boot to 1.3 & 2.0 (it's got the 1.4 chip so I've got that option). It came with a 2.0 partition & I've created the 1.3 partition. Unfortunately, the original owner didn't keep the special A3000 1.3 kick rom. I've got the 262,144 byte version from my 500, but the 3000 needs a special 282,624 or 283,136 version that was made especially for that system. It doesn't seem to exist anywhere on the web & I was disappointed to find it also wasn't on the Cloanto Amiga Forever CD I purchased. Does anyone have a copy of that ROM they could email to me so I can get my A3000 booting to 1.3? Thanks! My email is 'time4radio@hotmail.com'.
 

Offline amiga92570

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2006
  • Posts: 1005
    • Show only replies by amiga92570
Re: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2009, 02:10:46 PM »
kickstart 1.3 or 2.0x should be copied to a partition specifically named WB_1.3 or WB_2.x, respectively, and put in DEVS:kickstart, an absolute system location from where the A3000 system will find it at bootstrap and copy its image into RAM.
Amiga92570
==========================
(1) 4000T/040 (2)3000t CS 060/233ppc Picasso IV video, (2)D-box 1200 blizzard 060/200ppc Mediator fastATA, (1)amiga 1200 Power tower, (1)amiga 1200 EZ tower with mediator,1200/030/50mhz, (3) amiga 500 with CSA Mega Midget Racer and Trump card AT, (2) amiga 600 one with M-tec 030, (3) CD32 one sx32, two sx32-pro, More accessories and parts than I want to admit to
 

Offline BuzzBrain

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2006
  • Posts: 133
    • Show only replies by BuzzBrain
Re: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2009, 02:14:23 PM »
You got mail.

Cheers
------------------A M I G A----------------------
AmigaOne G3, 512MB Ram, 80GB HD, OS4.0
Pegasos II G4, 1GB Ram, 200GB HD MorphOS 2.2
A4000D PPC@233/060@50, 128MB Ram G-REX, Plus++
A4000T PPC@200/060@50, 128MB Ram Mediator, Plus++
Plus +++++++++++...
 

Offline chuckheiderTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 7
    • Show only replies by chuckheider
Re: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2009, 05:07:31 PM »
Quote from: amiga92570;530093
kickstart 1.3 or 2.0x should be copied to a partition specifically named WB_1.3 or WB_2.x, respectively, and put in DEVS:kickstart, an absolute system location from where the A3000 system will find it at bootstrap and copy its image into RAM.
I made 2 bootable partitions (WB_2.x was already there, so I created WB_1.3).  I copied Workbench 1.3 OS to the proper partition & I've tried several versions of 1.3 kickstart rom in the 'Dev' directory.  No luck so far.  It starts, but when I use the 262,144 byte version it has a software error (since it's the wrong version for the A3000 KS 1.4 boot menu) & another larger (540-ish byte) version I found says it's missing 'bonus' info & forces a reboot.  Hoping to snag a 1.3 kickstart file specifically for the A3000 with KS 1.4 (from what I've researched, it'll be either 282,624 or 283,136 in size).  So far, no luck!  Hoping someone has a 3000 with a working 1.3 partition & a copy of the ROM file they can pass along...?  I've got ReloKick & that works OK, but it doesn't let me see the hard drive.   Thanks!
 

Offline chuckheiderTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 7
    • Show only replies by chuckheider
Re: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2009, 01:22:55 PM »
To: BuzzBrain  Thanks for sending the ROM.  Tried it, but it's not the right one (doesn't work on an A3000 with the 1.4 KS boot rom).  It's the 'standard' 262,144 byte version without the A3000 bonus stuff needed with KS 1.4.  Worth a try, though!  I appreciate it.  Still looking...
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2009, 03:12:15 PM »
There's a shell tool on the 2.0/2.1 install disks that can extract the A3000 1.3 ROM from a SuperKickstart disk.
 

Offline chuckheiderTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 7
    • Show only replies by chuckheider
Re: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2009, 06:04:14 PM »
I've found a Kickstart 2 SuperkickStart disk, but no luck so far finding a 1.3 Superkickstart disk.  Anybody have an image of one?  I'd be happy to try going that route!
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2009, 06:09:47 PM »
Quote from: chuckheider;530332
I've found a Kickstart 2 SuperkickStart disk, but no luck so far finding a 1.3 Superkickstart disk.  Anybody have an image of one?  I'd be happy to try going that route!


It's the same disk. Both ROMs should be on it.
 

Offline chuckheiderTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2009
  • Posts: 7
    • Show only replies by chuckheider
Re: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2009, 08:34:04 PM »
Wow... I didn't realize I had what I needed & didn't even know it.  Thanks!  By any chance do you remember how to extract it from the SuperKickStart Disk?  You mentioned a shell tool.  Is it a command-line type thing or is there a GUI interface?  Thanks for your help!
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2009, 09:12:09 PM »
It's on the OS's "Install" disk in C. Might even be called ExtractKickstart. I don't remember the exact syntax, but it pulls Kickstart 2 by default.
 

Offline patrik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2003
  • Posts: 1284
    • Show only replies by patrik
    • http://www.megaburken.net/~patrik/amiga/
Re: Help with booting the A3000 to WB 1.3?
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2022, 11:07:18 PM »
Did this today with help of the makefiles tool found in the Tools drawer on the A3000 install disk:

8.Ram Disk:Tools> makefiles df0: 1.3 kick13-a3000
Insert SuperKickstart Disk in drive DF0: and press RETURN

Reading Header...done.
Reading 1.3 kickstart...done.
Writing 1.3 kickstart...done.
Reading Bonus1.3...done.
Writing Bonus1.3...done.


I had extracted the install disk adf straight to ram:, that’s why the path looks funny.