Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Handling wchar.h, utf-8 and so on  (Read 3262 times)

Description:

Offline nyteschaydeTopic starter

• VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
    • Show only replies by nyteschayde
    • http://www.nyteshade.com
Handling wchar.h, utf-8 and so on
« on: September 11, 2019, 07:01:37 AM »
So I have a few programming environments setup, include gcc 2.95.3, sas/c 6.58, Amiga E and more. Trying to figure out a way to port programs that rely on wide character support or UTF character support. What is usually done when program to be ported relies on these things? Any thoughts, experience? Point a girl in the right direction?
Senior MTS Software Engineer with PayPal
Amigas: A1200T 060/603e PPC • A1200T 060 • A4000D 040 • A3000 (x2) • A2000 Vamp/V2 • A1200 (x4) • A1000 (x3) • A600 Vamp/V1 • A500

Offline Rotzloeffel

Re: Handling wchar.h, utf-8 and so on
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2019, 12:33:06 PM »
I am not a Programmer, but normally codesets.library should be your friend :)

http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/codesets-6.21

Save Planet Earth! It is the only one in the galaxy with fresh and cold beer :laughing:

Offline Joloo

Re: Handling wchar.h, utf-8 and so on
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2019, 08:30:54 AM »
So I have a few programming environments setup, include gcc 2.95.3, sas/c 6.58, Amiga E and more. Trying to figure out a way to port programs that rely on wide character support or UTF character support.

Normally, wide char support is only available using newer gcc versions; gcc 3.x.x+ and then only in conjunction with clib2; I don't know whether gcc 2.95.x is supported by clib2 or not.
With UTF you mean...? UTF-7, UTF-8, or UTF-16 and/or UTF-32 (for LE/BE machines), or all of them?

What is usually done when program to be ported relies on these things? Any thoughts, experience?

Depends on...