Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org  (Read 26376 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bernd_afa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 479
    • Show only replies by bernd_afa
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #29 on: February 12, 2010, 08:03:12 AM »
thats great, i think thats simular as the C++ parser transfer all to C and the compler compile C.

But for aweb is it maybe possible to put it as a pre parser that convert the CSS stuff to HTML that aweb understand ?

also its possible maybe to use for this the libcss from netsurf ?
then maybe with the opensource aweb amiga have a fast CSS able browser.

I dont know, is there anybody working on aweb ?
 

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16862
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #30 on: February 12, 2010, 09:25:18 AM »
Quote from: Cammy;542772
Thanks for going to the effort to get Amiga.org looking better for us classic users, Karlos. The site works well through your proxy on my A1200, and I'll definitely start posting from here more often again from now on if the proxy stays up.

The domain may be moving soon to a dedicated server, so there may be a bit of downtime in the meantime if that happens.

Quote
Are you planning on making it a subdomain of Amiga.org?

Once the proxy is more mature, I'll ask if that can be arranged. Ultimately, that would be up to the new owners.

Quote
I hope you don't mind me asking, but would it be possible to make the Quick Reply box show up so we don't need to load an extra page to reply? It's not a big deal, but it might help speed things up a little when posting.

For the moment, I removed it since I couldn't get the feature working properly in ibrowse in the first place, but I can look into it, even if I have to implement it differently. I can't really take on feature requests until I've hammered out the bugs and other issues of which there are still many.

Quote
Here's a photo of my A1200 running IBrowse, browsing Amiga.org through the proxy server. I'm posting this message from my A1200, too!



:)

Nice :)
« Last Edit: February 12, 2010, 09:31:59 AM by Karlos »
int p; // A
 

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16862
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #31 on: February 12, 2010, 09:28:47 AM »
Quote from: Rebel-CD32;542796
The site works well through the proxy on AWeb too. I was surprised with how well the page looked in AWeb until it Gurued the computer.

Thanks for doing this for us classic users, I use IBrowse on my A1200 all the time, it's still my main computer.


I found that a big problem is that none of the inlined images include width and height attributes. This tends to force aweb to continuously reflow the page as images are loaded, which can cause it to get it's knickers in a twist. Some of the images sizes can be inferred by inspecting any attached styles, but they are only a small subsection.

The only other way to find the size of an image is to use gd to inspect it, but that then means sending all images through the proxy as well and having it inspect them. That would dramatically increase the server load and bandwidth, so it's not realistically an option.
int p; // A
 

Offline Drummerboy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2003
  • Posts: 512
    • Show only replies by Drummerboy
Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #32 on: February 14, 2010, 12:41:46 AM »
Thanks men..

Work Great with the Fossil Browsers!!.. :-]

regards!
Amiga 1000, 500, 600, 2000, 1200, 4000...

C= VIC 20 / 64 /SX64/ 128

Atari 600XL (SIC Cartdridge)
Atari 800XL (SIO2SD unit)

Jay Miner`s Atari 2600 - Wood front -

\\"Amiga, this Computer have a Own Live\\"--\\"Silence When the Drums are Talking\\".... DrummerBoy
 

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16862
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #33 on: February 19, 2010, 06:47:12 PM »
Some minor updates:

1) Improved rendering in AWeb (only tested in APL Lite 3.5.09)
2) The CSS "your notification" popup has now been replaced with an option select list
3) The disclaimer text is now collapsable, saving some room.
4) Images that are output directly from session-independent php code (avatars and their various previews are a prime example) are now no longer routed via the proxy but taken directly from the site, which should speed up loading a bit.
5) Lots of miscellaneous minor fixes to layout. The front page actually scores better on the W3C markup validation test than the original.
int p; // A
 

Offline pVC

Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #34 on: February 19, 2010, 06:50:58 PM »
Thanks! So far I've been just reading with this and it's been better than official verison ;)
Daily MorphOS user and Amiga active.
 

Offline Gulliver

Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #35 on: February 19, 2010, 07:11:16 PM »
Great! It looks really good!
 

Offline Tenacious

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2002
  • Posts: 1362
    • Show only replies by Tenacious
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #36 on: February 20, 2010, 11:42:13 PM »
Excellent job Karlos!

I hope this progresses.  No offense to Wayne, but, there really are many ppl logging in with Amigas.  Any site for the Amiga community about Amiga computers should look great on an Amiga computer.

It's like coming home again.  I'll try to participate more, now.

Thank You!
 

Offline miamiga

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 8
    • Show only replies by miamiga
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #37 on: February 21, 2010, 12:50:07 PM »
Great job Thank You!
Amiga 1200 in PC Case ,Apollo 1240 ,64MB ram , 40GB HD ,4 GB Memory Card, Sony DVD ,pc Keyboard , Pc mouse (Cocolino) ,Registered Whdload , Indivision 1200 AGA SD/FF, Mediator 1200 TX , SB128 , ATI Radeon 5200 128MB , Fast ethernet Card, Subway USB , 3.9 BB2.
Amiga 500   with 1084   Monitor
 

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16862
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #38 on: February 27, 2010, 10:36:01 PM »
In a quirk of fate, the graphics card in my main machine has unexpectedly failed, meaning my main machine is, once again, my Amiga.

As a consequence of this, I'm having to post from IBrowse myself (Actually, I could use OWB, but IBrowse is a bit lighter)...
int p; // A
 

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16862
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #39 on: March 06, 2010, 07:32:19 PM »
A slight update in response to analysing my server logs.

It seems a lot of folks were browsing the proxy using browsers that would be capable of viewing the mainsite with ease. I've added a redirect that automatically takes visitors to the mainsite if there is no indication that they are using an amigaos/aros/morphos based browser.

I've tested that it works with the spoofing options available in ibrowse but if anybody experiences any problems with other amiga browsers and spoofing, please let me know.
int p; // A
 

Offline tone007

  • sad moaning faced git
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 3238
    • Show only replies by tone007
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #40 on: April 29, 2010, 04:42:15 AM »
This message was posted using an A500 accessing Amiga.org through Karlos' awesome Amiga.org proxy!

Here's a photo of the experience:



edit: and my typo was corrected on a PC..
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
 

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16862
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #41 on: April 29, 2010, 09:14:52 AM »
A500 surfing, FTW :)
int p; // A
 

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16862
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #42 on: April 29, 2010, 09:16:51 AM »
One thing that is pretty clear from looking at it is that some adaptations could be made for low resolution / low colour scenarios.

I'll have to think about that when I get time. The user profile view needs fixing still, it's totally borked compared to the regular CSS version.
int p; // A
 

Offline Xanxi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 894
    • Show only replies by Xanxi
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #43 on: April 29, 2010, 02:37:59 PM »
Thank you Karlos for this work.
I was indeed really depressed to get a crapy result with ibrowse on amiga.org pages.
10 Classic Amiga Computers so far: I have too many computers!!
 

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16862
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Experimental IBrowse proxy for amiga.org
« Reply #44 from previous page: May 07, 2010, 02:24:47 PM »
Quote from: Cammy;542772
I hope you don't mind me asking, but would it be possible to make the Quick Reply box show up so we don't need to load an extra page to reply? It's not a big deal, but it might help speed things up a little when posting.


Well, I couldn't get the "proper" quick reply function (that uses the text entry box at the bottom of the page) to work, but I have reworked it such that it works as a normal "reply with quote", rather like the old forum.
int p; // A