Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Now is the time!  (Read 3604 times)

Description:

Offline PhatBoiCollierTopic starter

• Show only replies by PhatBoiCollier
    • http://www.tirinoarim.co.uk
Now is the time!
« on: June 11, 2003, 11:29:24 AM »
Thats it, I've had enough!

My full time occupation is developing application software for Windows.  I also have an evening/weekend job, developing application software for Windows.  As you can gather, I spend most my life in Windows.  Task management, emails etc via Outlook, documentation in word etc. and to be frank, they all suck.

I am so fed up of the Stupidity of this software.  As a developer, I KNOW whats involved.  I've written flight managements systems, holiday booking systems, stock control, chemical classification systems so I am experienced.  The fundamental floor is the software has been added to and added to.  The PROBLEMS are hardly addressed.

Sure, the latest version of Word can have text with sparkly lights but does it know where to put a page-break?  No.  Does it know how to count? (numbered lists) No. Style management.  Yeah, right.  Ok, now outlook comes with MSN messanger integration and loads of other bells and whistles but can you create a task and keep someone else informed of progress?  No.  And windows?  Jesus, dont get me started on that, what the hell is it doing when it boots?

And why the hell do I have to re-install it every 6-12 months just to keep it running?  There are bits of programs installing themselves in the startup drawer (ok, thats easy to fix) and all over the place in the registry (load, run, runonce...)

My point?  Well, after the all the discussions of which is best, MOS, AROS, OS4 etc. I  dusted off my A4000 from the attic and booted it...  8 seconds.  I had forgotton how damned quick it was.  And my 500MB (Yes, MB, not GB) drive?  Full os, 1 ray tracer, 2 word processors, organizer and a number of games.  Not even half full!