Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Kill old CLI processes?  (Read 3906 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline motorollin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 8669
    • Show all replies
Re: Kill old CLI processes?
« on: June 11, 2009, 02:21:12 PM »
Rebooting without doing endcli won't cause this. If you really want to kill it, open up a shell and type:

status

then press return. This will show all of the running processes. Then type

break processnumber

where processnumber is the number of the process you want to break (obviously ;))

However, it may just be the case that something in your startup-sequence or user-startup have used the Run command to detach to their own shell, which IIRC will cause subsequent shells to have a different number (since they're numbered consecutively).

Edit - Opus beat me to it :)

Also, to give an example of how normal this is, my 3.1 installation inside UAE has quite a few patches loading on boot, and opening up a shell starts process 10. So I really wouldn't worry about it.
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline motorollin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 8669
    • Show all replies
Re: Kill old CLI processes?
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 02:27:55 PM »
Quote from: jkirk;510593
it has been so long since i dealt with this i don't know if this helps but i think when you have a batch file such as startup_sequence it opens a shell while working. as long as the program started by this batch file is running that shell won't close. well unless the output is sent to >nil or >null. so chances are those shell processes are being held open by a certain process.

Even if you use run, each programme which gets loaded is still a process so will still shift the next shell's process number along by 1. Using Run just detaches it from the current shell processes (allowing e.g. startup-sequence to continue running without waiting for the other programme to finish what it's doing). Redirecting output to NIL just means you don't see the text telling you which shell process has been created for the command.
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
 

Offline motorollin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2005
  • Posts: 8669
    • Show all replies
Re: Kill old CLI processes?
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2009, 02:54:44 PM »
Quote from: jkirk;510599
yea that's right. it has been so long i am a bit rusty.:lol:

I had to check myself ;)
Code: [Select]
10  IT\'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10