Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Why should I use Amiga?  (Read 3645 times)

Description:

Offline anon123Topic starter

• Show only replies by anon123
Why should I use Amiga?
« on: April 20, 2007, 03:06:50 AM »
I am a hobby programmer with experience in Linux. I'm interested in alternative O/S's and Amiga caught my eye. I figure if the user-base is so dedicated, there must be something to it. From both a user and developer point of view, what makes Amiga (modern, MorphOS, AROS, OS4 etc.) so good?

Offline RRunner

• Show only replies by RRunner
Re: Why should I use Amiga?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2007, 03:10:38 AM »
Back in the day... it was by far the most advanced system available for home computing. Of course today it can't hold a candle to any "modern" systems. That being said, there are still a few things that keep me coming back to my old Amiga from time to time; nostalgia, blazing fast OS (boots in seconds), very simple and straight forward system with an intuitively obvious GUI.
-=>The RoadRunner<=-
A2000 030/40Mhz, 8Mb RAM, 1GB HD
AmiKit

Offline K7HTH

• Show only replies by K7HTH
    • http://NewPeopleString.com
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2007, 03:15:32 AM »
What RRunner said!
Own the Web... Go PeopleString! It\'s Huge!!

Offline Matt_H

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2007, 03:21:09 AM »
For me, the Amiga has an extremely logical system layout. Everything is where you would expect it to be. Hardware drivers in the Devs directory, shell commands in the C directory, shared libraries in the Libs directory, etc.

What I like best about it is that you can use it as a high-level user-friendly system and still be able to get beneath the surface very easily to not only diagnose problems, but just to learn how the system works.

You may want to consider buying the Amiga Forever emulation environment and a Developer's CD (v2.1) to learn more.

« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2007, 03:47:26 AM »