Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Updated Alien Breed 3D 2  (Read 2893 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16865
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Updated Alien Breed 3D 2
« Reply #29 from previous page: September 03, 2022, 12:55:43 PM »
Thanks. The showconfig output supports the hypothesis that a memory access in a particular address space is the culprit
int p; // A
 

Offline BozzerBigD

Re: Updated Alien Breed 3D 2
« Reply #30 on: September 03, 2022, 01:11:39 PM »
@utri007

Does it guru during initial load up of the application or does it happen randomly during play?

There is a bug in the engine already identified that appears to be an illegal memory access relating to opening the screen. This is totally reproducible in UAE where the binary won't start without allocating "32-bit chip ram" (a new class of chip ram not related to the original 2-8MB setting, lives in a different address range). Allocating that memory likely prevents a bus error from the access.

Crashes my Cyberstorm 060 AGA Amiga on loading too. Under OS3.1, OS3.5 and OS3.9. Just a white screen lock up under 3.1 but crashes and reboots under 3.5 and 3.9.

« Last Edit: September 03, 2022, 04:15:42 PM by BozzerBigD »
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."

John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios
 

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16865
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Updated Alien Breed 3D 2
« Reply #31 on: September 03, 2022, 02:43:45 PM »
Can you include a showconfig output?
int p; // A
 

Offline BozzerBigD

Re: Updated Alien Breed 3D 2
« Reply #32 on: September 03, 2022, 04:16:20 PM »
Can you include a showconfig output?

Done see above.
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."

John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios
 

Offline KarlosTopic starter

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16865
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: Updated Alien Breed 3D 2
« Reply #33 on: April 13, 2023, 05:23:49 AM »
For anyone interested, the latest builds are achieving a consistent 10-15 FPS on 68030 (ACA1230 @ 56MHz) in 1x1 at the default 2/3 screen size now, with peaks of 18. For a Blizzard 1260 @ 50MHz that rises to 20-25 with peaks of 30.

Other things of interest:
- Fullscreen floor/ceiling textures are now the same relative scale as they are in 2/3 size. This was a bug since the original game.
- Last traces of floor wobble eliminated.
- Keymap changes to assist emulators and other machines without an Amiga numeric pad: F10 for screen size F9 for pixel mode (1x1 or 1x2 only at this time)
- F8 can be used to simplify the lighting model (temporary key binding, will be combined with the current dynamic lights option on F4 later). This can give a significant performance boost at the cost of some reduction in lighting complexity.

To get the latest build, see: https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1608647&postcount=2007
int p; // A