Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Hardware or Software Problem with df1  (Read 2189 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline motrucker

Re: Hardware or Software Problem with df1
« Reply #14 from previous page: April 14, 2010, 06:27:52 PM »
I just moved, and my A2000 is in storage. I will have it back this Saturday, and open it up to see just have everything is connected.
Short of that, I am at a loss on this one.
A2000 GVP 40MHz \'030, 21Mb RAM SD/FF, 2 floppies, internal CD-ROM drive, micromys v3 w/laser mouse
A1000 Microbotics Starboard II w/2Mb 1080, & external floppy (AIRdrive)
C-128 w/1571, 1750, & Final Cartridge III+
 

Offline curtisTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 1049
    • Show only replies by curtis
    • http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
Re: Hardware or Software Problem with df1
« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2010, 09:33:51 PM »
Okay, was able to get the 2000 on the workbench and booting from a floppy.  Here's the results.

First off, the machine was stripped of ALL extra hardware.  NO Amber board, no extra memory, no bridgeboard, NOTHING extra.

Tried all sorts of combinations of J301 jumper, with and without the external 1011, and using 2 known good floppy drives.

Conclusion, df1: is NOT recognized in ANY configuration.  1011 is ALWAYS df2:

Anytime I boot the game, there is NO sound and ONLY df0: is recognized regardless of the J301 jumper position.

Am I looking at a bad CIA chip on the floppy problem?  Would this also affect the sound?
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: Hardware or Software Problem with df1
« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2010, 10:27:47 PM »
Are the 500 and 2000 both using Kickstart 2?
 

Offline curtisTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 1049
    • Show only replies by curtis
    • http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
Re: Hardware or Software Problem with df1
« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2010, 10:33:34 PM »
Okay, I'm a dummy!

I've been switching J101 not 301!  df1: is recognized.

Guess I can either live with disk swapping or utilize a dual 5.25/3.5" floppy drive on the PC side and 2 internal drives on the Amiga side.

Moving on to the no sound issue.

When I boot into WB, I can utilize the sound there, but nothing is coming out when I boot into the game.  Yet sound works perfectly on the A500.

Any suggestions on the sound.
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline curtisTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 1049
    • Show only replies by curtis
    • http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
Re: Hardware or Software Problem with df1
« Reply #18 on: April 17, 2010, 10:35:26 PM »
Quote from: Matt_H;554111
Are the 500 and 2000 both using Kickstart 2?


No, A2000 is KS 2 and A500 is KS1.3.  

Could this be killing my sound?

BTW, I figured out the floppy problem.  The game doesn't seem to like df2:  Dumb, but that seems to be the way it is.
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline curtisTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 1049
    • Show only replies by curtis
    • http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
Re: Hardware or Software Problem with df1
« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2010, 10:57:58 PM »
SON OF A B****!

f I just happen to have a 1.3 ROM laying around and when I switched the 2.04 with the 1.3, surprise, surprise, the sound came on!

So, here's the summary.

1.  Faery Tale Adventure doesn't like df2:  Doesn't even see it!
2.  Faery Tale Adventure doesn't like KS 2.  Kills the sound!

WTF!!!!!!

Guess I'll need to look into a KS switcher.

Ya know, this is getting to be more trouble than it's worth!  Sheesh.

Anyway, again, I want to thank everyone who contributed to this exploration into the vagaries of misbehaving game design.

Curtis
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: Hardware or Software Problem with df1
« Reply #20 on: April 18, 2010, 03:24:23 AM »
Hey, at least it's not a hardware problem :)

You might be able to softkick 1.3 - have a look at SKick
 

Offline curtisTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 1049
    • Show only replies by curtis
    • http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
Re: Hardware or Software Problem with df1
« Reply #21 on: April 18, 2010, 03:50:07 AM »
I'm really going to have to install CrossDOS aren't I?

Only computer I have hooked up to the 'net is my PEECEE.
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: Hardware or Software Problem with df1
« Reply #22 on: April 18, 2010, 04:25:42 AM »
Quote from: curtis;554136
I'm really going to have to install CrossDOS aren't I?

Only computer I have hooked up to the 'net is my PEECEE.


If you've got WB 2.1, it's as simple as mounting PC0:
 

Offline curtisTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 1049
    • Show only replies by curtis
    • http://www.suddenlink.net/pages/curtismc
Re: Hardware or Software Problem with df1
« Reply #23 on: April 18, 2010, 03:34:42 PM »
Quote from: Matt_H;554138
If you've got WB 2.1, it's as simple as mounting PC0:


Sitting at 2.05 right now.  Guess I'll start looking around for the upgrade!
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/