Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Aros on laptops  (Read 3368 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline EDanaII

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #30 on: December 28, 2011, 03:48:39 PM »
My previous laptop was a T42. I don't recall any serious issues running AROS on it.
Ed.
 

Offline TheMagicM

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #31 on: December 28, 2011, 03:57:44 PM »
Quote from: Terminills;673272
Before he buys a new wireless card he might want to test the atheros driver since the T42 came with 6 different wireless cards.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/IBM_ThinkPad_T42


I'll try it out and reply back.


One error I did find in the install was when I selected for it to create a "Work" volume/partition.  It didnt and asked me to insert Work volume.  I figured it would partition/create it automatically if it didnt exist.   Reinstalling now without a "Work" volume.
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline Terminills

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #32 on: December 28, 2011, 04:07:24 PM »
Quote from: TheMagicM;673275
I'll try it out and reply back.


One error I did find in the install was when I selected for it to create a "Work" volume/partition.  It didnt and asked me to insert Work volume.  I figured it would partition/create it automatically if it didnt exist.   Reinstalling now without a "Work" volume.



It may have something to do with this if you downloaded it before it was patched.

http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?viewmode=flat&type=&topic_id=6541&forum=24
Support AROS sponsor a developer.

edited by mod: this has been addressed
 

Offline TheMagicM

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #33 on: December 28, 2011, 04:12:12 PM »
You mentioned something about trying wireless drivers.. how would I go about doing that?
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #34 on: December 28, 2011, 04:17:18 PM »
Quote from: gaula92;673254
@Bloodline: very interesting. OSX stinks. Does it boot from GRUB2 in EFI mode yet? Or do you have to rely on legacy BIOS emulation layer?

Does the touchpad work smoothly or does it have the same skippy tact found in current Linux drivers?

Does HDA-Audio sound and 3D graphics work for Intel (X3100, 2008 models) work well?

thanks
GRUB boots via the BIOS emulation, and none of the Mac hardware is well supported, but the generic drivers work fine.

Offline Terminills

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #35 on: December 28, 2011, 07:22:18 PM »
Quote from: TheMagicM;673277
You mentioned something about trying wireless drivers.. how would I go about doing that?

Look in Prefs: Network change the device to the atheros driver then goto the wireless tab and change accordingly.  I would be more detailed but I don't have my box in front of me. :D
Support AROS sponsor a developer.

edited by mod: this has been addressed
 

Offline TheMagicM

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #36 on: December 28, 2011, 10:36:36 PM »
Quote from: Terminills;673295
Look in Prefs: Network change the device to the atheros driver then goto the wireless tab and change accordingly.  I would be more detailed but I don't have my box in front of me. :D


It works!!!  Now I have a reason to use this laptop!  Very cool stuff!!!
PowerMac G5 dual 2.0ghz/128meg Radeon/500gb HD/2GB RAM, MorphOS 3.9 registered, user #1900
Powerbook G4 5,6 1.67ghz/2gb RAM, Radeon 9700/250gb hd, MorphOS 3.9 registered #3143
 

Offline kickstart

Re: Aros on laptops
« Reply #37 on: December 29, 2011, 12:42:18 AM »
Quote from: HenryCase;673258
If you wish to install AROS to a USB flash drive, I'd advise using a virtual machine like VirtualBox or VMware to set this up. First, you need to format the USB drive with FAT32 and make sure the 'bootable' flag is set. If you're using Windows, using this tool will make all this straightforward (please note this software will work with all USB flash drives):
http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Hard-Disk-Utils/HP-USB-Disk-Storage-Format-Tool.shtml

Next, get a virtual machine solution. If you're unsure which one to go for, start with VirtualBox. https://www.virtualbox.org/

You will need to play around with mounting the external USB drive as a drive that VirtualBox can use. Here are a couple of guides that tell you what you need to know (Disclaimer: I wrote the first guide):
http://forums.trinityhome.org/viewtopic.php?t=1586
http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=6216

In VirtualBox, mount the AROS ISO image. You should then be able to start AROS inside the virtual machine. You can then use the AROS installer to install to the USB drive.

Hope this helps. Please let me/us know if you get stuck.



Flash would be nice, but there's plenty of other work to do before this is likely to happen.

However, one thing to bear in mind is that the first Zune Fix bounty is likely to be taken soon (a well respected AROS developer has shown an interest). Fixing Zune will make Odyssey Web Browser (a.k.a. MOS-OWB) easier to port, and Odyssey has workarounds for lack of Flash (e.g. it can play videos from YouTube).



People have got AROS running on x86 Macs. Your best bet is to burn an AROS live CD, and try it out first, before deciding if you want to install it. You've got a few different options when it comes to AROS distros, probably worth trying out Icaros first:
http://www.icarosdesktop.org/
If you have trouble installing it, best to ask on the AROS-Exec forums for help.


Thanks for the tips, seems a  bit complicated install aros on a usb-stick just for test... maybe its best for me a dual boot with windows xp.
a1200 060