Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Kickflash 1200 information.  (Read 3171 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NickmanTopic starter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 255
  • Country: 00
    • Show only replies by Nickman
Kickflash 1200 information.
« on: February 26, 2005, 09:47:10 AM »
Maybe someone here find this intressting. My Kickflash 1200 thred on Amigaworld.
----
Amiga1200T
Mediator/Voodoo3 3000/100mbit NIC/SB128
Blizzppc 603e 210Mhz 040 25Mhz, 192 mb ram,Bvision
SCSI Ultra320 74GB HD,4x Burner,MO drive.
 

Offline adolescent

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2003
  • Posts: 3056
    • Show only replies by adolescent
Re: Kickflash 1200 information.
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2005, 05:22:03 PM »
I think it's a great idea, but the 80 euro is too much for such a device.  Good luck though.
Time to move on.  Bye Amiga.org.  :(
 

Offline Matt_H

Re: Kickflash 1200 information.
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2005, 09:45:43 PM »
It's definitely a cool product, but I don't really know how neccessary it is anymore.

Desktop A1200s only have a finite level of hardware expandability, meaning that there's only a finite amount of stuff that can go in the startup-sequence that requires a reboot. For 1.3 compatability, WHDLoad is far more convenient than running stuff "natively" through Relokick, or something. I can't think of any 1.3-only productivity apps that aren't completely obsolete by now.

I'd say that nearly all Towered A1200s have some form of Zorro expansion, meaning that the same results of the Kickflash can be achieved through an Algor, KickflashOS4, or eFlash. The Algor offers more functionality (being a USB board and all) for only a little more money, and the other 2 boards are significantly cheaper than these flashable Kickstart ROMs would be.

The same applies to other big box Amigas.

The A500 already has a FlashROM board - though you've got you build it yourself. Plans are on Aminet.

The A600 is too difficult to expand to make any sort of ROM switching neccessary.

That's my opinion, at least.
 

Offline Doobrey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2002
  • Posts: 1876
    • Show only replies by Doobrey
    • http://www.doobreynet.co.uk
Re: Kickflash 1200 information.
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2005, 11:30:38 PM »
Quote

Matt_H wrote:
The A600 is too difficult to expand to make any sort of ROM switching neccessary.


Well, the A600 should be able to take the A500 flash mod too, they both use the same single 256x16 ROM, just a matter of getting the extra address signals from Gayle instead of Gary.
On schedule, and suing