Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.  (Read 478 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fordp

Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #45 on: January 14, 2015, 02:49:08 PM »
Quote from: danbeaver;781701
In fact Amazon has a working A500 for $150


   Q: If you are selling an Amiga 500, then why is the picture of a 2000HD model?
A: This is your only question? I'd also be asking why the OS is "Macintosh"


Gave me a chuckle.
 

Offline sm3

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2014
  • Posts: 73
  • Total likes: 1
Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #46 on: January 14, 2015, 03:36:22 PM »
Quote from: amiga76;781681
Still looking!

I might be interested in a 500 also if available.

All i'd be using it for is games and maybe some midi/music activity if i get to integrate it in a studio environment.....but mostly nostalgia gaming :)

Remember, if you get an Amiga 500 and decide you want to use an ACA500 later, it only works with Rev 6A and higher boards.
 

Offline amiga76

Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #47 on: January 14, 2015, 04:45:51 PM »
Quote from: sm3;781713
Remember, if you get an Amiga 500 and decide you want to use an ACA500 later, it only works with Rev 6A and higher boards.


Thanks for the heads up, sm3!


Are you talking about this?

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1168

I do read the following at the end:

³ motherboard revision 5 or higher required. At this time, there are some unconfirmed reports of NTSC motherboards not working with ACA 500.

Would you say those reports are not quite "unconfirmed" then?
 

Offline amiga76

Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #48 on: January 14, 2015, 04:46:23 PM »
Quote from: fordp;781704
I have an A500, Rev5 mobo, ROM 1.3 (or ROM1.2 if you prefer), A501, 1MB Agnus, in a box, waiting on a sale that didn't happen. I could part with it, PM me if you're interested.



msg sent!
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #49 on: January 14, 2015, 05:04:15 PM »
Quote from: amiga76;781722
Would you say those reports are not quite "unconfirmed" then?

Google search it.   It's all over the forums.  NTSC requires 6A or higher.

There's A500's all over ebay, only downside is you probably won't be able to tell from the auction what version motherboard they have.  Probably better to get one on the forums, here, or on Amibay, where you can ask questions like that.
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline Lionheart

Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #50 on: January 14, 2015, 06:23:26 PM »
Quote from: sm3;781713
Remember, if you get an Amiga 500 and decide you want to use an ACA500 later, it only works with Rev 6A and higher boards.

Actually, the ACA500 works in a revision 5 PAL A500.   Therefore, it should be possible to use in a rev 5 NTSC if you switch it to PAL and change Agnus to a 8371 or 8372A and disconnecting pin 41.
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #51 on: January 14, 2015, 06:27:14 PM »
Quote from: Lionheart;781726
Actually, the ACA500 works in a revision 5 PAL A500.   Therefore, it should be possible to use in a rev 5 NTSC if you switch it to PAL and change Agnus to a 8371 or 8372A and disconnecting pin 41.

Yeah, because that's not a pain in the ass, or anything.  ;)  Oh well, to each their own.  ACA 500 sucks anyway, lol.  ;)
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline sm3

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2014
  • Posts: 73
  • Total likes: 1
Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #52 on: January 14, 2015, 07:04:15 PM »
Quote from: amiga76;781722
Thanks for the heads up, sm3!


Are you talking about this?

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1168

I do read the following at the end:

³ motherboard revision 5 or higher required. At this time, there are some unconfirmed reports of NTSC motherboards not working with ACA 500.

Would you say those reports are not quite "unconfirmed" then?

  Well, it didn't work for my NTSC Rev 5 board, but after I found an NTSC 6a, it works.
 

Offline sm3

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2014
  • Posts: 73
  • Total likes: 1
Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #53 on: January 14, 2015, 07:33:41 PM »
Quote from: Oldsmobile_Mike;781727
...  ACA 500 sucks anyway, lol.
 I don't know if it sucks, for the price, it's not a bad upgrade. Better than messing with one of those old hard drives in my opinion.   I use mine to burn real floppies from ADFs and also use it as boot environment for my Workbench 1.3.  I'm going to spring for an ACA1233 soon to plug-in to the ACA500. I think that will work better for WHDLoad and then I can also plug it into my A1200 ;)
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #54 on: January 14, 2015, 07:40:56 PM »
Quote from: sm3;781729
I don't know if it sucks, for the price, it's not a bad upgrade. Better than messing with one of those old hard drives in my opinion. I use mine to burn real floppies from ADFs and also use it as boot environment for my Workbench 1.3. I'm going to spring for an ACA1233 soon to plug-in to the ACA500. I think that will work better for WHDLoad and then I can also plug it into my A1200 ;)

I don't use ADF's, floppies, or 1.3.  So I'm probably not the target market.  Also I think it's ugly and under-powered, and should have been internal.  I'm also just old and cranky and haven't had enough coffee yet today, lol.  ;)
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline danbeaver

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 2459
  • Total likes: 1
Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #55 on: January 14, 2015, 08:45:17 PM »
Well, if he is going for a retro gaming experience, the ACA500 is not needed.


Mike, It is 6:47 am here in GU, and I am on my first cup of caffeine of the morning
« Last Edit: January 14, 2015, 08:47:02 PM by danbeaver »
 

Offline mbrantley

Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #56 on: January 14, 2015, 09:58:23 PM »
If you want another confirmation, I am another unfortunate soul with an ACA500 sitting unused because my A500 is Rev 5 NTSC and the two do not like each other. On the lookout for a Rev 6 board or a whole A500 that is Rev 6 NTSC.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 05:35:28 AM by mbrantley »
 

Offline amiga76

Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #57 on: January 14, 2015, 10:41:30 PM »
Thank you all for the information!

I guess i shouldn't be too concerned. As i said i ill be using it mostly for gaming, but having the option to upgrade is always nice.
 

Offline magnetic

Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #58 on: January 14, 2015, 10:46:36 PM »
Quote from: sm3;781728
Well, it didn't work for my NTSC Rev 5 board, but after I found an NTSC 6a, it works.


FYI guys Rev 6 a500s are pretty darn rare in the usa!
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS | OS4.1 U4 |Ubuntu GNU-Linux | MacOS X

Amiga 2000 Rom Switcher w/ 3.1 + 1.3 | HardFrame SCSI | CBM Ram board| A Squared LIVE! 2000 | Vlab Motion | Firecracker 24 gfx

Commodore CDTV: 68010 | ECS | 9mb Ram | SCSI -TV | 3.9 Rom | Developer EPROMs
 

Offline sm3

  • VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2014
  • Posts: 73
  • Total likes: 1
Re: WTB: Amiga 1200/other in the US.
« Reply #59 on: January 14, 2015, 10:54:03 PM »
Quote from: mbrantley;781738
... On the lookout for a Rev 6 board or a whole A500 that is Rev 6 NTSC.

 The Rev 6a boards are plentiful if you are willing to purchase them from Germany or the UK. Of course they will be PAL, but there is a jumper setting that changes it from PAL to NTSC. I have picked up several as replacements via eBay. Just expand the search to "worldwide". I wanted mine mainly as a source of spare parts.

I forgot to add that if you have an Indivision ECS scandoubler from Amigakit, it probably doesn't matter if your Rev 6a is PAL or NTSC:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=82&products_id=918
« Last Edit: January 14, 2015, 11:09:53 PM by sm3 »