Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Amigaone..Romkernals / assemblysource + hardware design....  (Read 1528 times)

Description:

Amigaone..Romkernals / assemblysource + hardware design....
« on: February 12, 2003, 09:30:22 PM »
From an old hardcore game coder....

Im an amiga games programmer from years ago, and wrote in only assembly and the odd c++ etc. I personally wrote everything using the graphix libraries, intuition etc and also hitting the hardware directly as we did.
 Wrote both desktop applications and games, and was wondering about the os4 and amigaone machines.
For example, one of my system programs was diskmatev4 and was written all using libraries, can we assume all this is 100% compatable with the new amiga one, and does it matter whether you got ppc or motorola does it all happen in software emulation or is the old roms on some sort of card or plugin daughterboard.? Just no info on this, i see the atx boards of amiga one, but i hear ppl going on about old plugin boards or daughterboards is this like an amiga stuffed in there for compatability of old software??

Do you know if, all the old code will work and with the new os4, will the existing libraries or rather were they extended or rather the rom routines to allow the full 24bit, or more importantly, did they let us use a proper 256colour pallete for bobs and sprites.
Was never interested in ham or halfbrite, just the 8bit(256) or 24bit(16mil). Ie:In the old rom kernal manuals, the other 3 registers past upto the 8bit were never implemented, was this done on the new machines or in software at all, or what has happened to the register design, and what docs do we get to do things with, is this a developer thing again that one can buy, and is there going to be assembly routines to access the libraries again like before which would be cool.