Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: AROS potential newbie questions  (Read 1435 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mikeymike

AROS potential newbie questions
« on: March 18, 2004, 01:46:07 PM »
1 - Soon I'm going to be putting a new, big fat disk in my PC, and I'm thinking about allocating some space for a future install of an alternative OS.  I'd like to try out AROS.

The setup of the disk would look something like:

first partition, bootable: NTFS, 2GB

(partition in between for alternative OS)

data partition, NTFS, rest of space on disk

Could I boot into AROS if it were the second partition on the disk?  (I don't mind changing the active partition using a partitioning util every time I want to boot whichever isn't the current active one)  How large should the second partition be?

2 - can I have a read-only NTFS driver running to be able to read at least the NTFS data partition?

3 - state of graphics driver - GF4 Ti4200?

4 - apps support under AROS?

I'll probably make the alternative OS partition 10GB in size so that I could use it for say FreeBSD in the future.

I don't want to have a second disk in the same machine due really to sound, heat and expense problems.  I'll be using the current disk in another machine anyway.

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2004, 02:48:15 PM »
1. That should work. It's a Grub issue :-)

2. Well, we will be getting FAT32 support soon...

3. It works!!! :-)

4. Um... :-(

Offline mikeymike

Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2004, 02:52:09 PM »
1 - Grub?

2 - Remind me of the Linux/AROS relationship again...

3a - How about sound support?  SBLive card.

4 - so what do you do then for apps?  Run UAE for AROS?

4a - (UAE for AROS) Does it talk to the filesystem you have in place already?


Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2004, 03:02:24 PM »
Quote

mikeymike wrote:
1 - Grub?

2 - Remind me of the Linux/AROS relationship again...

3a - How about sound support?  SBLive card.

4 - so what do you do then for apps?  Run UAE for AROS?

4a - (UAE for AROS) Does it talk to the filesystem you have in place already?



Grub = Grand Unified Boot Loader... it's the loader we use to boot AROS, I also use it to boot between Linux and Windoze too.

2. Um... Linux is Open source... AROS is open source... AROS can run Hosted in Linux, sort of like Vmware but faster.

3. We have AHI, also a bounty for SB128, and with our new PCI drivers the AHI SBLive! should be easily portable.

4. One can use any AmigaOS app that has been compiled for the x86 CPU :-)

4a. The Plan is to hide UAE in AROS so that you can run your 68k apps without knowing there is UAE there, unless you run a hardware hitting app/game then you will get the gfx output on it's own Intuition screen. Right now, UAE is just UAE :-)

Offline mikeymike

Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2004, 04:03:00 PM »
2.  Oh ok, I thought the typical config was to piggyback on Linux.

So wrt filesystems, it would probably be easiest to put stuff on CD I want to use in AROS and copy from there?

3.  The SB128 and Live don'thave much in common though do they?

4.  Practically speaking though...?

4a.  but with UAE for AROS, do you have to have your own emulated Amiga setup like I do currently with WinUAE?  If I want to run say IBrowse I'd have to do it like I do on WinUAE?

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2004, 04:15:44 PM »
Quote

mikeymike wrote:
2.  Oh ok, I thought the typical config was to piggyback on Linux.

So wrt filesystems, it would probably be easiest to put stuff on CD I want to use in AROS and copy from there?

3.  The SB128 and Live don'thave much in common though do they?

4.  Practically speaking though...?

4a.  but with UAE for AROS, do you have to have your own emulated Amiga setup like I do currently with WinUAE?  If I want to run say IBrowse I'd have to do it like I do on WinUAE?


2. Ahh right, yeah, developers tend to run it piggy backed on Linux so that they can treat it as a virtual machine. I only use the Native version... It's boring messign around with linux :-)
Putting stuff on a CD ROM is the best way to move data at the present time.

3. No they don't. but we will get support for them shortly, I have written a little test tune for AROS when they are working.

4. There is a bunch of AmiNET recompiles that come with the AROS CD-ROM. mostly games and demos.

4a. At the moment UAE works just as it does in Linux, we have a GUI, but AFAIK Adam hasn't conencted yet... In future we want to get UAE running the 68k version AROS, with would allow all system function calls to be passed to the x86 AROS, thus making the emulation invisible.

Offline mikeymike

Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2004, 04:24:05 PM »
So if I want to do anything more than play around with the OS and UAE, I should wait a while yet?

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2004, 04:30:33 PM »
Quote

mikeymike wrote:
So if I want to do anything more than play around with the OS and UAE, I should wait a while yet?


If you want to do more than that then you should be using WindowsXP, anyway :-D

To be honest, I would say that until we get decent newtork support AROS is not going to be of great use to most people, but I would say the same about all hobby Operating Systems.

I do think you should dowload the CD and run it. you don't have to install it, but I assure you, you will enjoy it :-D

Offline dammy

Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2004, 05:34:34 PM »
by mikeymike on 2004/3/18 11:24:05


Quote
So if I want to do anything more than play around with the OS and UAE, I should wait a while yet?


Depends on what you want to do with AROS.  If you want to develope for it, I would suggest getting CVS access and run it hosted on Linux and then install it natively so you can dual boot.  If you want to beta test it, running it native will help the devs out alot.  

What is in the pipe right now is TCP/IP stack and FAT32 support. Once those have been released, AROS capabilities and ease of developement should be steadly increasing by the month, if not by the week.  If your just looking as an end user, just download the CD for now and enjoy it while the next several of weeks pass by and let the devs do their magick.  :-D

Dammy
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline mikeymike

Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2004, 05:35:11 PM »
Quote
I do think you should dowload the CD and run it. you don't have to install it, but I assure you, you will enjoy it


Any particular version/nightly/whatever?  A direct URL would be nice :-)

Offline dammy

Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2004, 06:13:04 PM »
Just grab the latest one and keep an eye out on these forums for annoucements.  Download it from here.

Dammy
Dammy

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Arix-OS/414578091930728
Unless otherwise noted, I speak only for myself.
 

Offline ottomobiehl

Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2004, 08:47:59 PM »
I have a question.

I actually downloaded the latest iso for booting from the CD (i386).  When it booted I noticed the mouse didn't work.  I have a Logitech USB mouse so I was wondering if there is USB support at all? :-) Or do I need to swap out with a non-USB mouse.  I couldn't remember the commands to navigate with out the mouse. :lol:

Other than that it looks really good.  You guys really rock with this thing.
 

Offline mikeymike

Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2004, 09:53:57 PM »
Oooh.  Pretty.  :-)

Offline Methuselas

Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2004, 10:05:50 PM »
Quote

mikeymike wrote:
Oooh.  Pretty.  :-)


Yeah, it's nice, isn't it??  :-P I have a 450 k6-2 I'm running it on. Works quite nice. I don't do much with it, but turn it on and go 'ooooooh' and 'aahhhh'.

It's mostly for show, so I can nag my mates that still have Amigas. Look, I have TWO versions of the Amiga OS running on an x86 machine (amithlon and AROS).

Shame I'm not a coder, or I would help the guys out. I'm REALLY liking how AROS is turning out. Make sure that you use a CDR/W for the ISO though, Mikey. That way, if a) there's a problem with a build or b) a newer update with better driver support or whatever, you can just reburn it, without losing a CD. I have a CDR/W that just has the word AROS on it.  :-D
\'Using no way as way. Having no limitation as limitation.\' - Bruce Lee

\'No, sorry. I don\'t get my tits out. They\'re not actually real, you know? Just two halves of a grapefruit...\' - Miki Berenyi

\'Evil will always triumph because good is dumb.\' - Dark Helmet :roflmao:

\'And for future reference, it might be polite to ask someone if you can  quote them in your signature, rather than just citing them to make a  sales pitch.\' - Karlos. :rtfm: (I didn\'t ask, obviously......) :lol:
 

Offline 4pLaY

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2002
  • Posts: 779
  • Country: no
  • Total likes: 5
  • Gender: Male
    • https://www.amigalife.org
Re: AROS potential newbie questions
« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2004, 10:10:42 PM »
Nope ottomobiehl (funky nick) =) there is absolutely NO USB support yet =) go ahead and attach a PS2 and it should work just fine.