Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE  (Read 4444 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dmaster

Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« on: October 14, 2018, 12:19:35 AM »
Will Amiga OS 3.1.4 work under WinUAE?  Thanks.
 

Offline Thomas Richter

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2018, 12:31:58 AM »
It would be very bad for WinUAE if it would not, and I would be very surprised if it would not, but please keep in mind that 3.1.4 is sold and licensed for use on physical Amiga machines, not on emulators. There is an EULA for that. In case you wonder why this is spelled out - the problem has a name, and this name is "Cloanto".
 

guest21671

  • Guest
Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2018, 06:33:11 AM »
HAHAHA, I guess AmigaBill is in trouble.
 

Offline Romanujan

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2018, 09:36:40 AM »
but please keep in mind that 3.1.4 is sold and licensed for use on physical Amiga machines, not on emulators. There is an EULA for that. In case you wonder why this is spelled out - the problem has a name, and this name is "Cloanto".

Where? My licenses doesn't mention emulation at all. For my computer legitimate version of AmigaOS (as the license calls this) is available, I believe AmigaForever is a legitimate package. And there is even a Kickstart ROM image in a directory called amiga_or_emulation. And even the official FAQ doesn't suggest running under emulation is not allowed - it only states that Hyperion can't ensure the OS will work correctly under emulation.

Offline NinjaCyborg

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2018, 07:56:33 PM »
It works fine
 

Offline Motormouth

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2018, 09:56:32 PM »
Won't devices like the ICD Shuffle Board allow you to do what you are asking?
http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/shuffle

Just put a switch on the shuffle board's jumper.
This might work with the A500 and A1000.  I don't know about any other amiga.

To Moderator sorry: I was trying to put this in the following thread: Dual floppy with a regular DF0 and a Gotek (with switch) 
« Last Edit: October 14, 2018, 09:58:12 PM by Motormouth »
 

Offline Trev

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2018, 06:36:58 PM »
... but please keep in mind that 3.1.4 is sold and licensed for use on physical Amiga machines, not on emulators. There is an EULA for that. In case you wonder why this is spelled out - the problem has a name, and this name is "Cloanto".

Seven years gone, and I come back to the same old infighting among IP holders. Will it ever end? :-)
 

Offline kolla

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2018, 12:05:28 PM »
keep in mind that 3.1.4 is sold and licensed for use on physical Amiga machines, not on emulators. There is an EULA for that. In case you wonder why this is spelled out - the problem has a name, and this name is "Cloanto".

Are you even aware of the content of the ADF images sold? The "problem" here is not Cloanto, something you apparently will have to learn the hard way.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2018, 12:07:19 PM by kolla »
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
 

Offline Thomas Richter

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2018, 02:10:27 PM »
Are you even aware of the content of the ADF images sold? The "problem" here is not Cloanto, something you apparently will have to learn the hard way.
Excuse me, but do not tell me what I know or do not know. You have not been in line when the decision has been made. It is exactly that: Cloanto claims to have rights for the emulation market, so it must be *very* clear that this is a product that does not address emulation. Emulation is Cloanto's market. This update, however, is for physical machines, so for a different market. It is highly unlikely that anyone is coming after you or a private user if you use 3.1.4 otherwise, but it is certainly true that Cloanto will come after Hyperion if this restriction would not be there and formulated explicitly. Whether you believe that I do not care, but it is precisely the reason why this Eula exists. Go check with Hyperion.


 

Offline kolla

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2018, 02:30:52 PM »
Then I am sure Cloanto's lawyers will appreciate to know that Hyperion is selling an OS that clearly also targets emulation market, since there is a dedicated kickstart image specified for use with emulators.

The EULA (which is void, since customer must buy the product to get hold of the EULA) says that this version of AmigaOS legally can be installed on any system for which there exists a legal copy of AmigaOS - which in essence means _ANY_ computer in the world.

I suggest you check in with Hyperion yourself.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2018, 02:33:11 PM by kolla »
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
 

Offline Louis Dias

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 1168
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 2
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.diasintegrated.com
Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2018, 02:58:33 PM »
The way I see it, Hyperion just released AmigaOS 3.1.4.  Cloato can release AmigaOS 3.1.5 and it doesn't really matter.
I could sell printer.device v50 and who could stop me?

...and WinUAE would still run it all...

So write your software.  Choose a "publisher".  Profit.

I mean at this point Microsoft could publish AmigaOS 3.2 considering how much they are embracing Linux...
« Last Edit: October 16, 2018, 03:12:59 PM by lou_dias »
 

Offline Thomas Richter

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2018, 03:22:06 PM »
I could sell printer.device v50 and who could stop me?
The problem is not the "sell a printer.device v50", the problem is where you take its source code from. If you re-implement from scratch, there is no problem whatsoever. Its yours, you are just implementing an interface, and the interface of the printer.device is not protected. I wrote my own version of "Execute", and provided it for everyone to use on Aminet. No problem with that either. The problem starts as soon as you create a derived work from somebody else's work.
 

Offline Thomas Richter

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2018, 03:25:13 PM »
I suggest you check in with Hyperion yourself.
Kolla, you know only little, and do not know all the backgrounds, and yet play here an armchair lawyer. I suggest to leave this to the professionals. I will stop here, knowing you are just trolling - as always. Reasons have been given, if you do not accept them, this is not my problem. As anyone else, you can go to coart if you want a legally binding answer.
 

Offline Louis Dias

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 1168
  • Country: us
  • Total likes: 2
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.diasintegrated.com
Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2018, 03:43:20 PM »
I could sell printer.device v50 and who could stop me?
The problem is not the "sell a printer.device v50", the problem is where you take its source code from. If you re-implement from scratch, there is no problem whatsoever. Its yours, you are just implementing an interface, and the interface of the printer.device is not protected. I wrote my own version of "Execute", and provided it for everyone to use on Aminet. No problem with that either. The problem starts as soon as you create a derived work from somebody else's work.
If only I was younger and didn't grow to hate C/C++ so much...and all the other languages who derived their syntax from it...
 

Offline kamelito

Re: Amiga OS 3.1.4 and WinUAE
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2018, 03:58:54 PM »
Amiga can soft kick kickstart for ages.