Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: PC -> Amiga  (Read 789 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Guest
PC -> Amiga
« on: January 01, 2003, 02:15:00 PM »
Hi.
I have bought an A1200 with a 40mb hdd!! Oh yeah, biiiiiig hd :)
I have a bunch of old Amiga games on my PC all in .adf. I´m using floppys (720kb) but some games is bigger than 720kb when they are zipped, how can i get them over to my Amiga when they don´t fit on a floppy? I want to use a null modem cable but i don´t now how. I tried to connect them with my old modem cable. I put it on com1 on PC and in the seriell port on the Amiga and started "Amiga forever" on the PC but they could not find each other. Anyone know how it´s done??

I hope you understand what i´m takling about, my english frasing is not the best ;)

Lenkan.
 

Offline odin

  • Colonization had Galleons
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 6795
  • Total likes: 0
Re: PC -> Amiga
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2003, 02:18:09 PM »
Have you tried ZIPping the adf's over multiple volumes? AFAIK thats possible with Zip. Otherwise you could use a Split and Join program. There are several on aminet if I'm right.

  • Guest
Re: PC -> Amiga
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2003, 11:35:00 AM »
It works now  :-)
I had to buy a new cable, but it takes a while to copy 880kb, 3min, hehe... But it works
 

Offline odin

  • Colonization had Galleons
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 6795
  • Total likes: 0
Re: PC -> Amiga
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2003, 12:03:20 PM »
Might wanna get a cheap PCMCIA network card, that's a wee bit faster =).

  • Guest
Re: PC -> Amiga
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2003, 12:45:05 PM »
But where do i connect it? I don´t have a A1200 tower.
 

Offline elendil

Re: PC -> Amiga
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2003, 12:49:36 PM »
the a1200 standard has a pcmcia slot on the left side of the box. At least mine did.

Be careful to choose a compatible pcmcia ethernet card, though. Not all will work, if I am correct. And what will work, I have no idea about.

They are cheap, though, and as someone pointed out, a good thing to buy for your a1200 imo.

Sincerely,

-Kenneth Straarup
 

Offline odin

  • Colonization had Galleons
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 6795
  • Total likes: 0
Re: PC -> Amiga
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2003, 12:54:02 PM »
Do a search for 'cnet.device' on aminet. That's the driver for them PCMCIA ethernet cards. AFAIK any card which is 'NE2000' compatible (whatever that is) should work.

But check out that driver first, it should have a list of cards which surely work.

Offline whabang

Re: PC -> Amiga
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2003, 01:48:32 PM »
du kan alltid använda WinRAR på PCn och UnRAR på amigan. Slöare än ett nätverkskort, men alldeles gratis! :-)
Beating the dead horse since 2002.
 

Offline melott

Re: PC -> Amiga
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2003, 11:48:04 PM »
Null modeming is really very easy.
 Go to radio shack and buy a Null modem.
 Its just a little Thingie thats looks like a cable
 gender changer. Plug the serial cables from each
 machine togather using the null modem as a
 connector. The null modem inverts 2 wires so
 that when you connect them the outgoing signal
 goes to the incoming on the other and vise-versa.
 You need to run a terminal program on each machine. They talk to each other through the terminal prgs. I've used it many , many times when
 I was running a BBS on a clone for the Amigas.
 Hope this helps.

Mel Ott
Stealth ONE  8-)