Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: How Many Running AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition Under Emulation and How's it Performing?  (Read 1507 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AmigaEd

  • His Dudeness, El Duderino
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2005
  • Posts: 512
  • Total likes: 0
Just wondering how many are running AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition under emulation and how has your experience with it been so far?

Thank You,
AmigaEd
"Pretty soon they will have numbers tattooed on our foreheads." - Jay Miner 1990

La Familia...
A1K - La Primera Dama -1987
A1K - La Princesa- January 2005
A2K - La Reina - February 2005
A2K - Doomy - March 2005
A500 - El Gran Jugador - April 2005
A1200 - La Hermosa Vista - May 2005
A2KHD - El Duro Grande - May 2005
A600 - Prístino - May 2005
A1200 - El Trueno Grande - July 2005
CDTV - El Misterioso - August 2005
C64 - El Gran Lebowski - August 2005
A3K - October 2010
y mas...
 

Offline trekiej

I got mine installed today.
Amiga Forever 7 was installed first.
edit: I used Flower Pot. I thought FP had a problem but it was the PPC Rom.

Networking seems to be slower than the host.
It boots quickly.

I downloaded and installed the SDK and Update 1.
Those went well. edit: Had some hiccups.

During install the PPC Rom needed to be fixed.
It shows 0K and running Amiga Forever fixes this. I am not able to tell how to do it.

It seems to seems to chug real bad with YouTube.
I am not for sure what else I need to install to make it work.

It may run slow.
So far I like it.
I plan to buy more software for it.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2018, 03:58:03 AM by trekiej »
Amiga 2000 Forever :)
Welcome to the Planar System.
 

Offline AmigaEd

  • His Dudeness, El Duderino
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2005
  • Posts: 512
  • Total likes: 0
Quote from: trekiej;836540

It may run slow.
So far I like it.
I plan to buy more software for it.


What hardware are you running?

I'm assuming this is running on WinUAE, if so what version of WinUAE?

Thank You,
AmigaEd
"Pretty soon they will have numbers tattooed on our foreheads." - Jay Miner 1990

La Familia...
A1K - La Primera Dama -1987
A1K - La Princesa- January 2005
A2K - La Reina - February 2005
A2K - Doomy - March 2005
A500 - El Gran Jugador - April 2005
A1200 - La Hermosa Vista - May 2005
A2KHD - El Duro Grande - May 2005
A600 - Prístino - May 2005
A1200 - El Trueno Grande - July 2005
CDTV - El Misterioso - August 2005
C64 - El Gran Lebowski - August 2005
A3K - October 2010
y mas...
 

Offline trekiej

Quad Core AMD, Win10 64 bit, 4GB RAM.
I am using Winuae that cam with AF7 or Flower Pot.
Amiga 2000 Forever :)
Welcome to the Planar System.
 

Offline ferrellsl

Quote from: AmigaEd;836536
Just wondering how many are running AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition under emulation and how has your experience with it been so far?

Thank You,
AmigaEd

It runs fairly well on my system but OS4 quickly runs out of RAM and as the available OS4 RAM decreases, so does the speed, until it finally goes unstable, so I stopped using it.  And forget any real web browsing with it.  After surfing just a few pages and one or two open tabs, the amount of memory goes nearly to zero and then the system hangs or becomes so unstable that it's unusable.  There's no 3D acceleration and I can't seem to get OS4 to recognize more than 128MB of memory.

My system is running Windows 10 on an i7-4710HQ CPU at 2.5GHz and 16GB of RAM and WinUAE 3.1.0.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2018, 06:00:49 AM by ferrellsl »
 

Offline kolla

Runs well on my macbook (not pro, nor air), 1.2 GHz Intel Core m5 with 8GB RAM, using FS-UAE.
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
 

Offline nicholas

It ran well on my 4.2GHz  i7-7700K with 32GB RAM but it's pretty much useless really.

Handy for porting code from 68k and MorphOS is all.

OS4 back ported to 68K is what I want to see. Would run much better under UAE.
“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini
 

Offline AmigaEd

  • His Dudeness, El Duderino
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2005
  • Posts: 512
  • Total likes: 0
Quote from: nicholas;836564
It ran well on my 4.2GHz  i7-7700K with 32GB RAM but it's pretty much useless really.


Hi nicholas,
Just wondering if you would elaborate a bit on declaring it "useless". Is this for same reasons of memory and browsing limitations as ferrellsl mentioned in his post?
"Pretty soon they will have numbers tattooed on our foreheads." - Jay Miner 1990

La Familia...
A1K - La Primera Dama -1987
A1K - La Princesa- January 2005
A2K - La Reina - February 2005
A2K - Doomy - March 2005
A500 - El Gran Jugador - April 2005
A1200 - La Hermosa Vista - May 2005
A2KHD - El Duro Grande - May 2005
A600 - Prístino - May 2005
A1200 - El Trueno Grande - July 2005
CDTV - El Misterioso - August 2005
C64 - El Gran Lebowski - August 2005
A3K - October 2010
y mas...
 

Offline kolla

Quote from: nicholas;836564

OS4 back ported to 68K is what I want to see. Would run much better under UAE.


I don't really see why this would be the case?
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC
 

Offline eliyahu

Quote from: kolla;836638
I don't really see why this would be the case?

because the 68K emulation under UAE is significantly faster than PPC emulation.

-- eliyahu
"How do you know I’m mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "or you wouldn’t have come here."
 

Offline outrun1978

What people would be best off reporting back under emulation of OS4.1 on more powerful hardware is how well web browsing with Odyssey works, if they are able to stream Videos via SMTube and if they can run games Like Gorky 17, Quake II or Return to Castle Wolfenstein at a reasonable speed under emulation.   I would say if you arent able to run these at a reasonable speed then you are missing out on the fun.  

FYI I used to run OS4.1 FE with my Microsoft Surface Pro 3 under emulation and it struggled compared to running it on the dedicated hardware.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2018, 05:17:50 PM by outrun1978 »
Amigaone X5000 4GB with Radeon HD 7750 and Amiga OS 4.1 FE Pre-Release

Amigaone 500 2GB with Radeon 5450 and Amiga OS 4.1 FE update 1

Amiga 1200 with ACA 1231/42 accelerator and Amiga OS3.9

Amiga CD32

Check out my blog at http://www.amigax5000.blog
 

Offline DStastny

I have X5000 which for the best experience of AmigaOS4 emulation does not come close.  That being said I do use OS4 under WinUAE with about 720 Megs for when I am traveling and it allows me to do some development work.  Is it fast.  Heck no,  but it works and it can go with me while I travel.  Weirdly if I am needing to run GDB for single stepping through code. It works under emulation but does not on X5000.  So there is a +1 there :)

So if you use it for a specific purpose it can be useful tool.  If you use it to try before you spend significant money on X5000 I am not sure it will give you adequate feeling for how much fun AmigaOS4 can be running nativity X5000 and new A1222 will surely be better.  Its not going to run any PPC native games in its current state.

Somethings could be done to make it significantly better however the owners of AmigaOS4.X and Aeon would have to be willing to say they are interested in volume of software vs hardware.  Not a debate I am willing to engage it so I just keep having fun with my X5000 and my emulated WinUAE OS4 as needed.

Regards
Doug
 

Offline Minuous

Well, for OS4.1FEu1, it takes about 100 minutes to build AmiArcadia, and another 100 minutes to build MCE, on a 1.35GHz host. Which is about 20 times longer than under OS3.9+BB4 on the same host. I was going to do some AIBB benchmarks but it just gurus on OS4.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2018, 10:33:25 PM by Minuous »
 

Offline AdvancedFollower

Quote from: outrun1978;836653
What people would be best off reporting back under emulation of OS4.1 on more powerful hardware is how well web browsing with Odyssey works, if they are able to stream Videos via SMTube and if they can run games Like Gorky 17, Quake II or Return to Castle Wolfenstein at a reasonable speed under emulation.   I would say if you arent able to run these at a reasonable speed then you are missing out on the fun.  

FYI I used to run OS4.1 FE with my Microsoft Surface Pro 3 under emulation and it struggled compared to running it on the dedicated hardware.


Odyssey isn't really usable under emulation on my Ryzen 1800X octa-core system. Netsurf is a little better but still much slower than under an emulated OS 3.x/68k WinUAE setup.

It's not just that the CPU emulation is rather slow, but there's no hardware desktop compositing, so scrolling/moving windows etc. is slow and unresponsive. Network speed is also pretty poor, and you're limited to around 500 MB of RAM (give or take).

Gaming and video playback are out of the question due to the lack of graphics acceleration.

It's great as a "try before you buy" (An AmigaOne) system, but not really usable on a daily basis.
 

Offline nicholas

Quote from: AmigaEd;836636
Hi nicholas,
Just wondering if you would elaborate a bit on declaring it "useless". Is this for same reasons of memory and browsing limitations as ferrellsl mentioned in his post?


There's nothing i can do on it that I can't do better on OS3.9 in UAE/Amithlon (or on MorphOS too). YMMV.
“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini