Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Mega Midget Racer in A500 w/ cpu socket IDE  (Read 42 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline curtis

Mega Midget Racer in A500 w/ cpu socket IDE
« on: July 04, 2016, 11:04:53 PM »
Does anyone know if a Mega Midget Racer will let an IDE interface to work in the 68000 socket?

It's the one sold by kipper2 without the memory.

I've tried a couple of other accelerators, but they all disable everything else installed in the 68000 socket.
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline Acill

Re: Mega Midget Racer in A500 w/ cpu socket IDE
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2016, 11:41:30 PM »
I seem to remember using mine back in the A1000 I had that way. Not the same IDE interface, but the one I used did go in the 68k socket.
Proud Retired Navy Chief!

A4000T - CSPPC - Mediator
Powerbook G4 15", 17"
Powermac G5 2GHZ
AmigaOne X5000
Need Amiga recap or other services in the US? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com and take a look or on facebook at http://facebook.com/acillclassics
 

Offline Plaz

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 1693
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://webpages.charter.net/tsilvey
Re: Mega Midget Racer in A500 w/ cpu socket IDE
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2016, 12:33:52 AM »
I used an ICD IDE(68000 socket) with a MMR on a A500 build up way back when. Worked fine. I still have that system, though it's been stored away for many year now.

BTW, I put the ICD under the MMR.

Plaz
« Last Edit: July 05, 2016, 12:36:20 AM by Plaz »
 

Offline Acill

Re: Mega Midget Racer in A500 w/ cpu socket IDE
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2016, 02:17:19 AM »
Quote from: Plaz;810642
I used an ICD IDE(68000 socket) with a MMR on a A500 build up way back when. Worked fine. I still have that system, though it's been stored away for many year now.

BTW, I put the ICD under the MMR.

Plaz


Same one I had, and also it needs to go under the MMR.
Proud Retired Navy Chief!

A4000T - CSPPC - Mediator
Powerbook G4 15", 17"
Powermac G5 2GHZ
AmigaOne X5000
Need Amiga recap or other services in the US? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com and take a look or on facebook at http://facebook.com/acillclassics
 

Offline psxphill

Re: Mega Midget Racer in A500 w/ cpu socket IDE
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2016, 02:22:42 PM »
Quote from: curtis;810638
I've tried a couple of other accelerators, but they all disable everything else installed in the 68000 socket.


Which way round are you plugging them in?

There is almost zero chance it will work with the IDE plugged into the 68000 fallback socket of an accelerator. As it's disabled when the accelerator is in use.

The accelerator plugged into the 68000 of the IDE adapter on the other hand should be fine.
 

Offline curtis

Re: Mega Midget Racer in A500 w/ cpu socket IDE
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2016, 03:44:10 PM »
That's probably the way I had it plugged in with the IDE plugged into the fallback socket.

Did that since the IDE is so small and putting it under the accelerator was awkward.

Guess I'll give it a try!

Will let y'all know how it works if I get the MMR.

Thanks for the advise guys.

Curtis

Quote from: psxphill;810651
Which way round are you plugging them in?

There is almost zero chance it will work with the IDE plugged into the 68000 fallback socket of an accelerator. As it's disabled when the accelerator is in use.

The accelerator plugged into the 68000 of the IDE adapter on the other hand should be fine.
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/
 

Offline LoadWB

Re: Mega Midget Racer in A500 w/ cpu socket IDE
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2016, 03:21:20 AM »
Yah.  My AdIDE worked under my Derringer.
 

Offline Plaz

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 1693
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://webpages.charter.net/tsilvey
Re: Mega Midget Racer in A500 w/ cpu socket IDE
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2016, 02:36:54 AM »
I added these to the bottom on my MMR for a bit more space. I stacked them 2 high. You may not be able to do that in a 500 case though.

Plaz
 

Offline curtis

Re: Mega Midget Racer in A500 w/ cpu socket IDE
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2016, 03:01:37 PM »
Kind of figured there would have to be some spacing between the 2 to account for the IDE cable.

I have those and have used them for several expansions which require wires connecting to various chips or if i needed some headroom..  Much better to solder the socket than the chip itself!

So, how many of us actually have the top of the case in place on an A500 anyway?

Quote from: Plaz;810688
I added these to the bottom on my MMR for a bit more space. I stacked them 2 high. You may not be able to do that in a 500 case though.

Plaz
Outside a dog, a book is a man\'s best friend. Inside a dog it\'s too dark to read! Groucho Marx

Curtis McCain

http://pages.suddenlink.net/curtismc/