Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: cf-card for Amiga600/1200  (Read 53 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alphadec

cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« on: April 26, 2015, 10:01:14 AM »
Where do I find cf cards that can be used with a pcmcia adapter on amiga600 or 1200.

I know Amiga can only accept 16 bit cards but where do I find them. ?

goal is to use them as a storage device, if that is possible.
Amiga 4Ever
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2015, 12:10:20 PM »
Take whatever CF card you find, the PCMCIA adapter is passive and all normal CF cards still follows the specifications and can be used. (there are a few changes to the later DMA cards and there are some problems with some cards when used as PATA drives but that wont effect the PCMCIA use you need it for).

Are you planning to use a CF card with FAT and have the software needed?
« Last Edit: April 26, 2015, 12:21:21 PM by som99 »
 

Offline alphadec

Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2015, 12:23:25 PM »
Quote from: som99;788460
Take whatever CF card you find, the PCMCIA adapter is passive and all normal CF cards still follows the specifications and can be used. (there are a few changes to the later DMA cards and there are some problems with some cards when used as PATA drives but that wont effect the PCMCIA use you need it for).

Are you planning to use a CF card with FAT and have the software needed?


When I try them in my A1200 all I get is "write protected" but there is no lock on the cf cards so thought it was becouse they was not compatible.
Amiga 4Ever
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2015, 12:33:10 PM »
You need compactflash.device and FAT95 if you are going to use FAT.

http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/cfd
http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/fat95
« Last Edit: April 26, 2015, 12:37:31 PM by som99 »
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2015, 08:06:26 AM »
Did you get it all up and running?
 

Offline alphadec

Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2015, 10:28:26 AM »
Quote from: som99;788568
Did you get it all up and running?


I have installed both files but the cf card shows up as "no disk present" when I use "info" from shell.
Amiga 4Ever
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2015, 11:57:38 AM »
Are you sure that the passive adapter is a 16 bit card? What CF/PCMCIA adapter are you using?

Can you see the CF card in WinUAE?

Edit: Also what brands and sizes of cards are you using? Cheapo crapo cards from ebay (are even fake labeled ones there) are something to stay away from.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2015, 12:02:46 PM by som99 »
 

Offline alphadec

Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2015, 12:45:34 PM »
Quote from: som99;788576
Are you sure that the passive adapter is a 16 bit card? What CF/PCMCIA adapter are you using?

Can you see the CF card in WinUAE?

Edit: Also what brands and sizes of cards are you using? Cheapo crapo cards from ebay (are even fake labeled ones there) are something to stay away from.


What I like to use it for is a storage device so I can copy files from windows to my amiga1200 (that was the plan).

When I read the fat95 read me it say I must write the mountlist myself is there anyone who have amount list that works for fat95. ?
Amiga 4Ever
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2015, 02:48:02 PM »
what happens if you double click /devs/CF0?
 

Offline alphadec

Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2015, 04:12:50 PM »
Quote from: som99;788581
what happens if you double click /devs/CF0?


"CF0: is mounted"
Amiga 4Ever
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2015, 04:43:48 PM »
Quote from: alphadec;788583
"CF0: is mounted"

Still "no disk present"?

Do a fresh format of the cards on another machine and try again (be sure not to NTFS, exFAT, EXT*, JFS, XFS etc format them).

I know people have had trouble with CF cards, but as long as I stay at the bigger brands I have had zero problems with em for PCMCIA but some won't work as a PATA device.


Kingston works great for me, but honestly I probably have near 100 CF cards and all big brand cards worked without any problem for me, some shady questionable brands cheap out on the onboard controller and won't work on the miggy but all others I have tried works flawless :S

What cards are they? Size and brands?

Edit: also try the other version of CDF on aminet.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2015, 04:53:54 PM by som99 »
 

Offline alphadec

Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2015, 05:00:53 PM »
Quote from: som99;788585
Still "no disk present"?

Do a fresh format of the cards on another machine and try again (be sure not to NTFS, exFAT, EXT*, JFS, XFS etc format them).

I know people have had trouble with CF cards, but as long as I stay at the bigger brands I have had zero problems with em for PCMCIA but some won't work as a PATA device.


Kingston works great for me, but honestly I probably have near 100 CF cards and all big brand cards worked without any problem for me, some shady questionable brands cheap out on the onboard controller and won't work on the miggy but all others I have tried works flawless :S

What cards are they? Size and brands?

Edit: also try the other version of CDF on aminet.

I tried to format it in win7 in a program called SDFormater. When I now put this in my A1200 the icon "CF0:NDOS" comes up.

So then there is something with the fat read on my A1200.

Clues. ?

PS. Card is a verbatim (2GB)
Amiga 4Ever
 

Offline som99

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 1566
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.som99.se
Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2015, 05:50:14 PM »
I have not used SDformat so don't know anything about it.

Smells something wrong with FAT95, have you put fat95 inside :L?

Select CF0 and do a QUICK format in Workbench and see if you can use the card with FFS.
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2015, 07:04:03 PM »
I have a 256MB FAT95-formatted SD card that I occasionally use for transferring files between my Amiga and PC (I have card readers in both, so I just pop from one to the other).  I set it up last year sometime, but having absolutely no experience with FAT95 prior to that, I can tell you I found it an absolutely infuriating head-scratcher of a PITA.  Much more difficult than it needed to be, with no clear online instructions or guides available anywhere.  :angry:

Hang tight, if you're unable to figure it out I'll try to make some screenshots of my config for you later today, might help?  Good luck!
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline alphadec

Re: cf-card for Amiga600/1200
« Reply #14 on: April 29, 2015, 08:46:25 PM »
Quote from: Oldsmobile_Mike;788588
I have a 256MB FAT95-formatted SD card that I occasionally use for transferring files between my Amiga and PC (I have card readers in both, so I just pop from one to the other).  I set it up last year sometime, but having absolutely no experience with FAT95 prior to that, I can tell you I found it an absolutely infuriating head-scratcher of a PITA.  Much more difficult than it needed to be, with no clear online instructions or guides available anywhere.  :angry:

Hang tight, if you're unable to figure it out I'll try to make some screenshots of my config for you later today, might help?  Good luck!


Love to see some screenshots of your config.
Amiga 4Ever