Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Official Scandoubler  (Read 199 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline magnetic

Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2015, 01:40:26 AM »
gonk23

You CAN power this device and others (like genlocks) from the pins on the RGB but its better/safer to use external..
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS | OS4.1 U4 |Ubuntu GNU-Linux | MacOS X

Amiga 2000 Rom Switcher w/ 3.1 + 1.3 | HardFrame SCSI | CBM Ram board| A Squared LIVE! 2000 | Vlab Motion | Firecracker 24 gfx

Commodore CDTV: 68010 | ECS | 9mb Ram | SCSI -TV | 3.9 Rom | Developer EPROMs
 

Offline fondpondforever

Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #16 on: January 29, 2015, 10:40:28 AM »
Quote
The only Commodora built scandoubler, as far as I know, was the A2320 card.


Make your own case, buttons and equip it with an LED with this board installed then you have the official Commodore Scandoubler. WOW i want one of these :p

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Commodore-Amiga-A2320-Flickerfixer-NEU-OVP-RAR-Display-Enhancer-Card-Sammler-/321532410131?pt=Klassische_Computer&hash=item4adcd33913
Hop, Crackle, Blast Off into Spino Space!
 

Offline Duce

  • Off to greener pastures
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 1699
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://amigabbs.blogspot.com/
Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #17 on: January 29, 2015, 04:51:48 PM »
Or just spend the cash on an Indivision, which works better than any of the other flickerfixers anyways.  Other than the various RTG boards, of course, which offer far more than a simple flickerfixer/scandoubler.

Why would you want to put an A2320 into an external case with blingy blue LED's when it's an internal card, lol.  A2320's were not without their problems either, and were fairly rare.

That ebay 2320 is going for about 250 E more than I'd ever pay for it, NiB or not.
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #18 on: January 29, 2015, 04:54:32 PM »
Quote from: Duce;782570
Why would you want to put an A2320 into an external case with blingy blue LED's when it's an internal card, lol.  A2320's were not without their problems either, and were fairly rare.

That's a GBS8200 in the external case, not an A2320.
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline Duce

  • Off to greener pastures
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 1699
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://amigabbs.blogspot.com/
Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2015, 04:58:23 PM »
I'm aware Mike, and the gentleman that replied left a link to a 2320 on Ebay with ideas about dropping it in an external box with gaudy blue LED's.  See above.
 

Offline fondpondforever

Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #20 on: January 30, 2015, 11:15:29 AM »
Hahahehe. I can see why installing an internal card into an external case is seen as a bit kooky. :biglaugh: Would it work though? I think it would. It would have no practical use but would be aesthetically pleasing to the Amiga Showoff :cool:
 
 Another question. Does the A2320 work on an Amiga 4000?
« Last Edit: January 30, 2015, 11:28:40 AM by fondpondforever »
Hop, Crackle, Blast Off into Spino Space!
 

Offline Duce

  • Off to greener pastures
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 1699
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://amigabbs.blogspot.com/
Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #21 on: January 30, 2015, 11:42:41 AM »
The A2320 will work on the A4000, but burps in some doubled AGA screenmodes, if I recall correctly.

As for putting a Zorro card into some sort of breakout box and running it externally, I imagine it'd be doable with some form of homebrew slot extender.
Why you'd want to is another story :)  

The Bitcoin mining community has been using PCIe extenders for years on mining rigs, and they are used in low profile 1U and 2U servers occasionally, but there's some debate about them affecting performance.  I suppose something similar could be dreamed up for the Zorro bus, though I'd be worried about decent signal at any length.

http://www.amazon.com/PCI-E-Express-Extender-Flexible-Extension/dp/B008BZBFTG
« Last Edit: January 30, 2015, 12:01:51 PM by Duce »
 

Offline fondpondforever

Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #22 on: January 30, 2015, 12:46:22 PM »
Know that it was made for the 2000 using ECS graphics but is there a solution to stop the doubled AGA screenmodes from messing up. :idea:
Hop, Crackle, Blast Off into Spino Space!
 

Offline Duce

  • Off to greener pastures
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 1699
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://amigabbs.blogspot.com/
Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2015, 01:41:07 PM »
Yeah, the solution is called the Indivison AGA :)  Or just find an RTG card, which is easier said than done at reasonable prices these days.

There's also the DIY GB card, but it'd take a lot of work.

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/a2320aga
 

Offline motrucker

Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #24 on: January 30, 2015, 02:20:17 PM »
Could a moderator please lock this stupid ass thread?
A2000 GVP 40MHz \'030, 21Mb RAM SD/FF, 2 floppies, internal CD-ROM drive, micromys v3 w/laser mouse
A1000 Microbotics Starboard II w/2Mb 1080, & external floppy (AIRdrive)
C-128 w/1571, 1750, & Final Cartridge III+
 

Offline Duce

  • Off to greener pastures
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 1699
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://amigabbs.blogspot.com/
Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #25 on: January 30, 2015, 02:23:17 PM »
Because it doesn't interest you, it's stupid?  A rather fun, silly thread turned into a fairly decent, civil technical discussion.  Maybe someone learned something, maybe not, but no one got killed in the process and some friendly discussion occurred.

Glad you aren't a moderator, with all due respect.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2015, 02:31:19 PM by Duce »
 

Offline paul1981

Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #26 on: January 30, 2015, 05:53:58 PM »
There's far too much negativity and bitching here these days. It's getting quite intolerable. :(
 

Offline Oldsmobile_Mike

Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #27 on: January 30, 2015, 08:16:39 PM »
Quote from: Duce;782637
Yeah, the solution is called the Indivison AGA :)

+1. Man, you folks come up with some terrible ideas, lol. Although that PCIe extender cable is amusing, I imagine timing for an Amiga video card would be a bitch. ;)
Amiga 500: 2MB Chip|16MB Fast|30MHz 68030+68882|3.9|Indivision ECS|GVP A500HD+|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|Cocolino|SCSI DVD-RAM
Amiga 2000: 2MB Chip|136MB Fast|50MHz 68060|3.9|Indivision ECS + GVP Spectrum|Mechware card reader + 8GB CF|AD516|X-Surf 100|RapidRoad|Cocolino|SCSI CD-RW
 Amiga videos and other misc. stuff at https://www.youtube.com/CompTechMike/videos
 

Offline Duce

  • Off to greener pastures
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 1699
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://amigabbs.blogspot.com/
Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #28 on: January 30, 2015, 08:54:40 PM »
Aye, if the long path of the extender didn't get you outright trying to do it with the Zorro bus, even trying to find the components to make such an extender would be a real chore (zorro slot portion, and then the 'gold edge' portion).

It's great fun kicking around wacky ideas, but there's a reason why things like the Indivision exist:  they are readily available at dealers, and are cheaper than most old FF's were, not to mention the fact you don't have to sacrifice a Zorro slot with one.
 

Offline UberFreak

Re: Official Scandoubler
« Reply #29 on: January 30, 2015, 09:10:58 PM »
A2320 in A4000 = puke-inducing color quantization on any mode with more than 32 colors.

Tried it for a few minutes, then got myself a proper 24-bit scan-doubler.