Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Quake 2 and Quake 3 - stuttering sound  (Read 1147 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Quake 2 and Quake 3 - stuttering sound
« on: May 25, 2014, 04:50:08 AM »
So have these two games running smooth as silk now under OS4. But get stuttering sound/high pitch tones now and then, sound appears to be fine elsewhere.

Startup sound is fine. I've tried both the onboard and the SB Live card same issue.

Anything tips under OS4 for AHI sound? Googling the topic there are a couple of links but the appear to be down/broken.
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline lionstorm

Re: Quake 2 and Quake 3 - stuttering sound
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2014, 08:50:30 PM »
DMA issue maybe ? check what the status of the HD partition where Quake 1-2 are : are they PIO or UDMA ?
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Quake 2 and Quake 3 - stuttering sound
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2014, 11:03:40 PM »
So Quake 3 has just started working fine on it's own. So not sure what fixed it.

I'm going to create a new folder for Quake2 and start again.

How do you check the DMA/PIO settings in AmigaOS4?
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline lionstorm

Re: Quake 2 and Quake 3 - stuttering sound
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2014, 05:48:46 PM »
in a shell, type idetool -l ide.device
replace ide.device by your correct device (on AmigaOne, it is a1ide.device)
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Quake 2 and Quake 3 - stuttering sound
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2014, 05:49:18 AM »
So the main drive is set to UDMA 5 100MB/s. Quake 2 is the only game left I can't seem to get working right wit the sound card.

But haven't had a chance to start again. Quake1 and 3 are fine and I can't fault with other sounds i.e. system sounds so will try a fresh install of Quake2.

Just need to sort out my joystick issues in RunInUAE next :-/
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline lionstorm

Re: Quake 2 and Quake 3 - stuttering sound
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2014, 05:12:52 PM »
it might also be the filesystem you are using !
my games partition is JXFS but you could use SFS or SFS2, all of them will give better performance over FFS2 !