Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey  (Read 1894 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« on: July 16, 2013, 09:18:43 PM »
Recently I was given an older shuttle system, a Shuttle/X. So thought hey why not make this my ICAROS system :-)

Didn't have a spare DVD/CD laying around as I don't really use them anymore so made a live pen drive as they call it in the AROS world.

Booted from it and installed AROS, everything appeared to go fine and it installed on to the local IDE HDD fine.

Restarted and got the all too familiar error with suspend/reboot just like on my A1200 ;-) The Nvidia driver appeared to be the issue so rebooted and started it in 800x600 and it got a little further, although this time it kept wanting me to put in the AROS live volume (the USB stick) so after cancelling several of these errors I got the desktop.

Once at the desktop it was fine and I could try out a few things, although it doesn't like the ATI 9200 card I have installed and even though under networking it said everything was okay I couldn't get online. So possibly it doesn't like the onboard NIC.

Didn't go much further into it as I had to go to work (boohoo), so my steps later today:

Live volume errors, possible solution:

1) Borrow a couple of discs from work.
2) Burn the live ISO to it, and install AROS from disc.

Video card, possible solution:

1) Try the onboard
2) ??

Network card, possible soultion:

1) Try a PCI network card, which I can do once the graphics card is removed.
2) ??

Stay tuned :-)
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2013, 08:28:57 AM »
Okay so going by the AROS read me's the nforce2 chipset is supported. Anyway after spending a couple of days on this I've decided that's me, time to move on.

Freezing/suspend errors/no network/no graphics. USB, sound card however work ;-)

Gave it try, back to Windows/WinUAE/Amiga OS :-)
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2013, 09:07:53 AM »
Was going to try AEROS but the torrents for it are painful, so next :-)
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2013, 09:38:47 AM »
Quote from: Lurch;741043
Okay so going by the AROS read me's the nforce2 chipset is supported. Anyway after spending a couple of days on this I've decided that's me, time to move on.

Freezing/suspend errors/no network/no graphics. USB, sound card however work ;-)

Gave it try, back to Windows/WinUAE/Amiga OS :-)
Hardware accelerated gfx drivers aren't really all that important at the moment... The CPU has gobs of grunt that massively outperform anything the Amiga ever had, as long as you can use the VESA driver to get a nice 32bit display at a proper resolution, just enjoy it, you wouldn't notice any difference unless you tried to play a 3D game or something. :)

Offline nicholas

Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2013, 11:48:14 AM »
Quote from: Lurch;741045
Was going to try AEROS but the torrents for it are painful, so next :-)


Try the links in my sig.
“Een rezhim-i eshghalgar-i Quds bayad az sahneh-i ruzgar mahv shaved.” - Imam Ayatollah Sayyed  Ruhollah Khomeini
 

Offline ncafferkey

Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2013, 03:27:54 PM »
Quote from: Lurch;740969

Restarted and got the all too familiar error with suspend/reboot just like on my A1200 ;-) The Nvidia driver appeared to be the issue


Unlikely if you have an ATI card installed.

Quote

even though under networking it said everything was okay I couldn't get online. So possibly it doesn't like the onboard NIC.


I don't know where AROS gives any kind of "everything is okay" message regarding networking. Are you sure you selected the right driver?
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2013, 06:16:20 AM »
Quote from: bloodline;741046
Hardware accelerated gfx drivers aren't really all that important at the moment... The CPU has gobs of grunt that massively outperform anything the Amiga ever had, as long as you can use the VESA driver to get a nice 32bit display at a proper resolution, just enjoy it, you wouldn't notice any difference unless you tried to play a 3D game or something. :)

Managed to get it working, ICAROS ATI driver allows me to run in native after deleting the Nvidia driver. Although I can't open up OWB as the screen corrupts and it hangs.

Interesting thing is I can get 3d acceleration working great.

So tried the ATI drivers from http://www.syntaxsociety.se/~bearsoft/ These give me an almost rock solid desktop but it breaks 3D acceleration.

Under VESA it's very laggy not smooth at all, native is very quick.

Quote from: nicholas;741055
Try the links in my sig.

Amithlon, will give that a try thanks :-)

Quote from: ncafferkey;741085
Unlikely if you have an ATI card installed.

The Nvidia driver would crash with the onboard Geforce card so switched to the ATI 9200 card same deal, it would try and load the Nvidia driver.

Once I deleted that driver it allowed the ATI driver to work, although still not 100%.

Another thing I noticed is I would get no picture at all when using DVI, change to VGA and no problems.

I've got it to a point I can use workbench(?) browse the internet for about half an hour then a solid lock.

Quote
I don't know where AROS gives any kind of "everything is okay" message regarding networking. Are you sure you selected the right driver?

Should be the nforce driver as it's nforce2 nic. Anyway this started working fine once I deleted the nivdia driver.

Just need someone to point me in the right direction for a decent ATI driver.

Going to try this one next.

http://amiga-news.de/en/news/AN-2006-03-00103-EN.html

If not will give AEROS/Amithlon a go :-)
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline ncafferkey

Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2013, 03:42:39 PM »
Quote from: Lurch;741169

Just need someone to point me in the right direction for a decent ATI driver.


The ATI drivers are a bit lacking. You might have better luck using the onboard nVidia. Otherwise, VESA may be slow for some things, but stable.
 

Offline Duce

  • Off to greener pastures
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 1699
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://amigabbs.blogspot.com/
Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2013, 05:05:59 PM »
I gave up on it after it thrashed a brand new 1 TB drive.  Never could get it running reliably on any hardware I tried it on, from old to new.  Weird lockups, network connectivity would randomly flake out after it was working fine for 45 minutes, screenmode issues, etc.

Installed Amithlon on the AMD 4200+ X2 machine I originally put together for AROS and been happy as a clam ever since.
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2013, 07:57:18 PM »
Quote from: ncafferkey;741218
The ATI drivers are a bit lacking. You might have better luck using the onboard nVidia. Otherwise, VESA may be slow for some things, but stable.


Got it working finally with the Nvidia card, but can't get even 1024x768 in native mode with it. Defaults to 800x600.

Not sure AROS/Icaros is the right option.

Quote from: Duce;741230
I gave up on it after it thrashed a brand new 1 TB drive.  Never could get it running reliably on any hardware I tried it on, from old to new.  Weird lockups, network connectivity would randomly flake out after it was working fine for 45 minutes, screenmode issues, etc.

Installed Amithlon on the AMD 4200+ X2 machine I originally put together for AROS and been happy as a clam ever since.


Good to hear, currently working on installing it, Amithlon looks like it has better driver support.

Will post how I get on :-)
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2013, 03:45:34 AM »
Amithlon - Have it booting now, all installed on the HDD :-) Just working on getting the NIC, USB and sounds card to work.

USB - Detects and shows the controllers, however I get errors when I put a USB stick in and it wont mount.

NIC - Wont detect any cards, pcilist does show the cards though.

Sound - Nothing, AHI is a little messed up, but haven't had time to look into it further.

After trying a few of these platforms they all have their quirks and problems ;-)

KX Lite is next, have made the Forever disc's just need to work out what I need to do next.

Best x86 solution so far is Windows + WinUAE and then loading WinUAE as a shell replacement. No driver problems.

Determined to get Amithlon working though.
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline Iggy

Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2013, 03:56:16 AM »
@ Lurch

You are one persistent fellow.
"Not making any hard and fast rules means that the moderators can use their good judgment in moderation, and we think the results speak for themselves." - Amiga.org, terms of service

"You, got to stem the evil tide, and keep it on the the inside" - Rogers Waters

"God was never on your side" - Lemmy

Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"
 

Offline Lurch

  • Lifetime Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2003
  • Posts: 1716
  • Total likes: 0
Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2013, 08:52:14 AM »
Quote from: Iggy;741369
@ Lurch

You are one persistent fellow.


Like a dog with a bone. Also helps past the time waiting for a part to arrive so I can try and finish my 1200 tower.

Stripped it right back as it was starting to play up and I'm rebuilding it from the ground up.
-=[LurcH]=-
A500 Plus Black 030@40MHz 128MB | A1200T 060@80MHz 320MB | Pegasos II G4@1GHz 1GB  | Amiga Future Sub
 

Offline Iggy

Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2013, 05:32:32 PM »
'060 @ 80 MHz?
Now that is extreme.
"Not making any hard and fast rules means that the moderators can use their good judgment in moderation, and we think the results speak for themselves." - Amiga.org, terms of service

"You, got to stem the evil tide, and keep it on the the inside" - Rogers Waters

"God was never on your side" - Lemmy

Amiga! "Our appeal has become more selective"
 

Offline haywirepc

Re: The start of my AROS/ICAROS journey
« Reply #14 on: July 20, 2013, 10:32:13 PM »
I never had an amithlon machine but I hope to someday.

On Aros, I have never found a machine where everything works without using specific cards purchased on ebay just for aros - nvidia fx550 video card, intel 100 networkcard and sblive with emu10k chip, and everything works fine.

"Best x86 solution so far is Windows + WinUAE and then loading WinUAE as a shell replacement. No driver problems."

Yes I agree, this works great and no driver problems at all. It helps alot to have a good accelerated video card that works good in windows. I had a machine like this for awhile that was great fun, and booted straight to amiga os3.x

The kxlight install works great too, but I was never able to fix that it would only support 800x600, you need to boot from a linux floppy or something and change the settings on the linux side to allow greater screen resolutions.