Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Hollywood MAL AMIStore App Store A600 Memory

AuthorTopic: Linux APUS  (Read 1177 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Linux APUS
« on: February 04, 2004, 02:34:06 PM »
I have had this installed on my amiga for years, bu as of yet I have not been able to do anything useful with it.

Are there any X drivers for AGA?

Offline KennyR

Re: Linux APUS
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2004, 02:35:32 PM »
I seem to remember loading the X desktop under AGA years ago, so it's a good bet.
 

Offline Ryu

Re: Linux APUS
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2004, 02:58:40 PM »
I've never got it going :-( Though I would love to see what its like...

If anyone out there is willing to lend a hand please give me a shout. Baring in mind im a linux newb... I figure most people wouldnt have the patience :-)

Oh and before anyone says anything, yes I have tried to follow the docs but most of it goes way over my head, all I ever managed to get it to do was kernal panic or something.
Yours
Darren aka Ryu
-----------------------------
www.IntuitionBase.com
My Amiga 1200 webserver
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Linux APUS
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2004, 03:21:29 PM »
Quote

Ryu wrote:
I've never got it going :-( Though I would love to see what its like...

If anyone out there is willing to lend a hand please give me a shout. Baring in mind im a linux newb... I figure most people wouldnt have the patience :-)

Oh and before anyone says anything, yes I have tried to follow the docs but most of it goes way over my head, all I ever managed to get it to do was kernal panic or something.


That's good. I thought I was alone in trying to get APUS running on AGA :-)

Offline redrumloa

  • Original Omega User
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2002
  • Posts: 10126
  • Total likes: 0
Re: Linux APUS
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2004, 04:16:34 PM »
whatever information you uncover dealing with Linux APUS in general post here please.
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
 

Offline Jose

Re: Linux APUS
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2004, 04:25:38 PM »
Yes, and if you want more company give me a PPC card for my A1200, I want one... :-o
\\"We made Amiga, they {bleep}ed it up\\"
 

Offline darksun9210

Re: Linux APUS
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2004, 11:47:38 AM »
i had a go at this, booted, loaded some version of redhat all ok, logged in. then sat there looking at the command prompt with a "whats goin' on 'ere" look slapped across my chevy chase.
i futzed about with trying to get the permedia GFX driver to work, but when it comes to Linux, i'm a total fresher.

i understand (and admin) solaris networks on a day to day basis, so i could move around, configure the shell and stuff. but i dunno. i was just well pleased at having a PPC native OS running on my amiga at the time.

what annoyed me was having to switch over to powerup from WOS to boot the damn thing ;)

the main thing i've seem that makes me want to run it again now, is MOL (Mac on linuxPPC) its available for debian, and supports 603/604/G3/G4 class cpu's and runs OSx!, and there is a debian build for PPC/APUS with the right revision kernal etc. i just can't find the binarys or even, not sure what i'm looking for or doing.

people say hey thats cool, just re-compile it! yeah fine, but compiling in linux gives me the shivers. i just don't like the idea of having to compile stuff to run it let alone understand whats going on. at least in solaris its all scripted. don't even notice its happening...

jibber jibber jibber, my old mans a mushroom etc. etc. (blackadder goes fourth - mimmiking madness) :-?

A500 Vampire2, A600 Vampire2, A1200 Bliz030, A1200 Bliz040, A1200 BlizPPC, A3k CS MK3060, A4k C=040, CD32 TF330