Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Amiga Kit Amiga Store Iridium Banner AMIStore App Store A1200/A600 4xIDE Interface

AuthorTopic: Aros Laptop  (Read 1116 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FrankBrana

Aros Laptop
« on: January 30, 2004, 11:30:39 AM »
Hi

I have a old laptop just lying around here, and I wanna give it a new life with AROS. Since it has no CDROM (yeah, I have a parallel CDROM unit, but NO WAY to install AROS CD FROM IT), I have tried the floppey version available to download in the official aors page.

I boot, but when It gets the first shell screen, it displays somewhat like

assign: error
run: error
execute: error

Error or not found, I dont remember at all.

Another strange bit is taht I can not bootup the floppy with the HD recongnised by bios, or it will not bott up at all

What I can do here?

Regards
 

Offline takemehomegrandma

Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2004, 11:48:02 AM »
Well have I got news for you!!? :-o It is now possible to turn your laptop into a *genuine* AROS machine! Just add one of those AROS brand stickers on the front, and you are all done! A brand sticker is all it takes!

Look at this thread for more info (post from bloodline), there you will see how the sticker looks like:
http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=6431
MorphOS is Amiga done right! :)
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2004, 12:01:25 PM »
Quote

FrankBrana wrote:
Hi

I have a old laptop just lying around here, and I wanna give it a new life with AROS. Since it has no CDROM (yeah, I have a parallel CDROM unit, but NO WAY to install AROS CD FROM IT), I have tried the floppey version available to download in the official aors page.

I boot, but when It gets the first shell screen, it displays somewhat like

assign: error
run: error
execute: error

Error or not found, I dont remember at all.

Another strange bit is taht I can not bootup the floppy with the HD recongnised by bios, or it will not bott up at all

What I can do here?

Regards


Are you able to give more details of the Laptop?

Offline falemagn

Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2004, 12:26:36 PM »
Quote
assign: error
run: error
execute: error

Error or not found, I dont remember at all.


Looks like either a broken floppy or a broken disk image. Have you downloaded the latest nightly build floppy image? If so, it's definitely your floppy that is broken.
 

Offline FrankBrana

Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2004, 12:31:16 PM »
Well, its a quite old laptop, but, hey, install something fun on it or trash it directly. :-P

its a 486 DX4 with 4 MB Ram, 31, B HD and 256 color screen

I know its crappy, but its better than nothing :-D

@falemang

I have tried every packages in the web in several flippies. None works at all
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2004, 12:38:17 PM »
Quote

FrankBrana wrote:
Well, its a quite old laptop, but, hey, install something fun on it or trash it directly. :-P

its a 486 DX4 with 4 MB Ram, 31, B HD and 256 color screen

I know its crappy, but its better than nothing :-D

@falemang

I have tried every packages in the web in several flippies. None works at all


There might be a problem with AROS on anything under a Pentium...

I am unable to test any machine less than a Pentium 233MHz now (Since my P75 died/ was murdered).

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2004, 12:40:32 PM »
Quote

FrankBrana wrote:
Well, its a quite old laptop, but, hey, install something fun on it or trash it directly. :-P

its a 486 DX4 with 4 MB Ram, 31, B HD and 256 color screen

I know its crappy, but its better than nothing :-D

@falemang

I have tried every packages in the web in several flippies. None works at all


I've just had a thought!!! what software are you using to write the disk with?

Try the build on my site, it oems wioth the latest version of Rawrite:

Matt's AROS page

-Edit- I've just noticed the Floppy Image link on my site is broken (how come nobody emailed me about this :-D).

AROS disk Images

Offline Coder

Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2004, 12:44:06 PM »
@bloodline

You know I got to ask (again). Aros/Pegasos anything? :-)

Coder
Check it out - I found the ass-end!
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2004, 12:59:34 PM »
Quote

Coder wrote:
@bloodline

You know I got to ask (again). Aros/Pegasos anything? :-)

Coder


Real soon now (tm)

On Schedule and Rockin' (tm)

I've seen it running on a Pegasos, it's 99% complete! (tm)


-Disclaimer- Some of the above staments may or may not be true.

Ok, the good news, Michal's wife has given birth to a lovely a little baby girl, and in celebration of this has worked hard to get the PCI system sorted out... which I am confidently informed will speed the Peg port... :-)

Offline uncharted

Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2004, 01:09:49 PM »
What is the lastest *Stable* version?

I haven't had a play with AROS in a few months, I wanna see what's new.
 

Offline FrankBrana

Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2004, 01:15:56 PM »
@Bloodline

I have been using the latest rawwrite available inits own page
 

Offline takemehomegrandma

Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2004, 01:16:24 PM »
Quote

FrankBrana wrote:
Well, its a quite old laptop, but, hey, install something fun on it or trash it directly. :-P

its a 486 DX4 with 4 MB Ram, 31, B HD and 256 color screen

I know its crappy, but its better than nothing :-D


Aaww, I'm afraid that your computer does not comply with the Zippo specifications that is needed to earn a genuine brand tag:-( , the hardware has to be burning hot (selling like hot cakes)! There are cool alternatives available, but you will not be able to use the brand sticker then, so you might find them to be quite useless ...
MorphOS is Amiga done right! :)
 

Offline takemehomegrandma

Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #12 on: January 30, 2004, 01:19:31 PM »
Quote

bloodline wrote:

Ok, the good news, Michal's wife has given birth to a lovely a little baby girl, and in celebration of this has worked hard to get the PCI system sorted out...


 :-o  :-o  :-o

That's what I call a way to celebrate! :-D

(My best wishes and congratulations to the new family! :-))
MorphOS is Amiga done right! :)
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
  • Total likes: 0
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: Aros Laptop
« Reply #13 on: January 30, 2004, 01:24:16 PM »
Quote

uncharted wrote:
What is the lastest *Stable* version?

I haven't had a play with AROS in a few months, I wanna see what's new.


Last nights build seems to work ok, just pop over to the AROS website and check out the downloads section, at the bottom of the page there is a table with the last three nights buils in it :-)